Chapter 55: Saturday Mornings (Lizzie’s POV)

Screenshot-811

I feel completely rejuvenated for Spring Quarter. For once, everything seems to be going well. Kendal and I are back on track, and so are Michael and I. My classes are also going well and Janice and I are closer than ever. I honestly never thought I would be close to anyone other than Abby, but Janice has really changed all that. That doesn’t mean, I don’t still think about Abby, I just don’t as much as I used to.

One thing I do like about Janice is that she has gotten me into exercising more often. We have decided to make it a pact to work out in the gym together twice a week. Granted Janice exercises practically every day, but at least I can join in sometimes.

Screenshot-811

That Saturday, a week after Spring Quarter starts, we head up to the gym for an early morning workout. Janice is right about working out in the morning. It gives you a jump start for your day.

Screenshot-851

After showering and getting dressed, we both decide to have breakfast of waffles and orange juice before diving into a study session. My new communications class is much more challenging than last quarter and we already have a test next Friday.

Screenshot-857

An hour later, we are both deep into our textbooks. Janice is also studying for an anatomy test coming up on Wednesday. I know she will ace it though. She is a walking dictionary for those anatomy terms. I swear, if she weren’t majoring in physical education, she would be going into medicine.

Screenshot-858

After almost two hours of studying, I let out a little yawn.

“So, I know this is off subject, but my sister Judy sent up the skating video game she gave me for Christmas. You want to play with me afterwards?”

Screenshot-859

Janice laughs. “Why not? After all this studying, I am totally pooped. Just know that I rule at racing games. I use to cream my sisters all the time.”

“Well you may have just met your match.” We both give each other a look and laugh.

I then look up and the smile fades from my face.

Screenshot-860

At that moment, Abby had just entered into the dining room. But that is not what caught my attention. It was what she was wearing. I have always known Abby to never step foot out of her room without her face made up and wearing a fashionable outfit. But here she was makeup-less or should I say with messed up mascara, walking into the dining room in her robe. Yes, her robe. I am stunned. But what disturbs me, is the look on Abby’s face. She looks lost and her eyes are red and puffy. She looks like she has been crying and for quite a while. I instantly feel the urge to go after her, but I hold back. Abby and I hadn’t spoken since we ran into each other at the beach party back on New Years Eve and I didn’t know if this was the time to. Still, I can’t wash away the look in her eyes from my mind. What had happened to her?

Screenshot-866

After Abby disappears into the kitchen, I turn to Janice. “Did you just see Abby?” I ask.

Janice looks up. “No, why?”

“She just came through here in her bathrobe.”

“What? Really?”

“Yes. She looks horrible. I wonder what happened.”

Janice shrugs. “I don’t know, but something tells me it either has something to do with the Tri-Fruhms or Brad. You know that they are on suspension.”

I frown. “Really? Why?”
“Apparently, they are being accused of using cheat sheets to help each other pass classes.”

Now that doesn’t surprise me. While I know Abby is smart, it was very strange to find out she had made it onto the dean’s list Fall quarter. Something told me she that had had some help. I am surprised that she would go along with cheating though. She had really changed since joining the Tri-Fruhms.

Janice slams her book shut. “Well, I think I am all studied out. You ready to take a break?”

I close my book as well. “Yes ma’am.”

Screenshot-1415

Ten minutes later, we are deep into my skating video game. I must say, I definitely rule at that game.

“I can’t believe you are beating me!” Janice says, desperately trying to maneuver her character on her side of the screen.

I laugh. “I told you I’d give you a run for your money.” I then glance over my shoulder. I am still a bit worried about Abby. I had seen her head back with a bowl of popcorn and she looked even worse than when she came down. I can’t remember the last time I had ever seen her look like that. What on Earth had happened to make her look so horrible?

Screenshot-1417

“So, I heard that the Tri-Fruhms are trying to petition to get more funding for the Greek chapters.”

I look back to Janice. “They are?”

“Yup, they have some nerve. But they aren’t going to get away with it. The school needs more funding for the physical education programs and I’ll be damned if I let the funding go to them instead.”

“What does that mean?”

“It means I’m going to petition against it. I am also going to hold a protest, a large one at that. I am holding it in three weeks, before the decision is made by the board.”

Screenshot-1419

My mind is so distracted that I don’t really pay attention to her last sentence. I still can’t get Abby’s facial expression out of my head.

“Hey Lizzie, you okay?” Janice asks.

I snap back into reality. “Yes, of course.”

“Go talk to her.”

“Talk to who?”

“Abby. I know you want to. You’ve been distracted ever since you saw her come downstairs.”

I sigh. “I can’t. Things are just too weird between us. I wouldn’t even know where to begin. Besides, I’m sure Abby has other people she would rather talk to. If she really needed me, she would have come to me already. Clearly she doesn’t.”

Screenshot-1418

Janice presses her thumbs on the controllers a few times, finally getting her character to beat me in our downhill race. “Yes!” she mouths quietly and then turns to me. “Well, if you are sure.”

“I am. Abby will be fine,” I say, but honestly, deep down I’m not so sure.

-Evanglina

Leave a comment