Year 2: Chapter 8: Frat Party Night (Abby’s POV)

Screenshot-4423

The night of the party sneaks up on me. Well sort of. I had been counting down the days until the night arrived. I am still very uncomfortable about it. While Charls claims everything will be fine, I don’t know if I believe it. Brad may not be there, but I know his frat brothers know we were together. Who knows what Brad might have told them about me. While I didn’t do anything wrong, I am now dating one of Brad’s other frat brothers and on top of it, his best friend. I’m pretty sure that his frat brothers weren’t going to be okay with that. But that wasn’t the only thing I was worried about. I still haven’t heard back from Kimberly in a whole week. I keep texting her, but she hasn’t responded. I am now really starting to think that she might be mad at me. But honestly, how was I suppose to know that the other sororities would look at what we did as snitching? I mean, now that I think it about it, I guess it was, but still. I don’t regret it for one moment. The Tri-Fruhms needed to be stopped and now they were. I just wish the other sororities would see it that way.

I think about all this as I paint in Art class, and almost don’t notice when my professor tells us class is over. Our new assignment is to decide on an art project theme that we will be working on throughout the rest of the semester. Right now, my mind is too clouded to think about that.

Screenshot-4425

After leaving class, I hurry off back to my dorm to find the perfect outfit to wear to the party. At least I want to look good if I was going to be shunned by everyone. I keep glancing at my phone, but still get no text from Kimberly. I feel my heart sink. Maybe she was mad at me. I was going to have to do something.

Screenshot-4455

Five hours later, I am dressed and ready for the party. I’ll be getting there two hours late, but I honestly don’t mind. I leave a note for Lizzie, who is probably out with Michael again (those two sure were seeing a lot of each other all of a sudden) and then head out to my car.

It is a quick drive to the Alpha Annyas frat house, probably because of the fact that my mind is so far away. Before long, I pull in front of the Alpha Annyas house. “Here goes nothing,” I tell myself, and I leave my car and then walk to the front door.

Screenshot-4470

Someone sees me coming and opens the door to let me in. It is one of Charls’s frat brothers. I smile at him politely, but he barely seems to notice me. It looks like mostly everyone is out back, so I head through the hall and then out through the sliding door.

Screenshot-4473

As I head over to the juice bar, I run straight into someone. I am about to apologize when I see who it is.

“Taylor,” I say a little disappointed. “Hi.”

Screenshot-4475

Taylor frowns. “I’m sorry, do I know you?”

I roll my eyes. How mature. “Taylor, it’s me. Abby.”

Taylor raises her eyebrows. “Abby…Ah yes.” Her eyes narrow. “Abby Clawson. The wannabe Tri-Fruhm that got our chapter expelled. How have you been?”

I ignore the sarcasm in her voice and flash her a smile. “I’m doing great actually. You?”

“Just peachy. I heard about you and Kimberly visiting the Alpha Beta Phis last week. Funny how you two actually thought that they would want you in their sorority after what you did.”

I scoff. “Let me guess. You talked to Clare.”

Taylor fakes a look of shock. “How did you guess? Not that it matters. I would have found out anyway. All the Alphas know about it.”

Screenshot-4481

I frown. “What do you mean?” I then freeze. “Wait, are you an alpha too?”

Taylor grins. “You guessed it.”

Screenshot-4490

I am totally stunned. “Wow, I can’t believe they let both you and Clare in. They must have no taste.”

Taylor scoffs. “You should talk. Getting a sorority expelled just because you screwed up? That’s what I call tasteless.”

Screenshot-4485

I glare at her. “You know that’s not what happened. Clare is the one that totally squealed on me to my professor.” I then wave my hand. “That’s not even the point. You shouldn’t have been making us cheat in the first place!”

Taylor returns my look of hate. “Hey, no one forced you! It was your choice. Just like it was to dump Brad for Charls.”

Screenshot-4486

 

I look at her confused. “W-what?”

Taylor rolls her eyes. “Oh please. We all know you were into Charls while you were dating Brad. You were probably glad when you found out about that leaked sex tape. It gave you an excuse to dump him and make yourself look innocent.”

I am so shocked I don’t even know what to say. “What the hell are you talking about?” I manage to spit out, but Taylor isn’t finished.

“And don’t think I don’t know what you’re trying to do here. You’re all dressed up trying to get the Alpha Annyas to like you. But you know what? They don’t. They never will. They all know about what you did to Brad and with one of their own Frat brothers. I’m actually shocked that they haven’t said anything to Charls already. Probably because Brad isn’t here.” She pauses and smiles at some of the Alpha Annyas passing by before continuing. “Nevertheless, you’re wasting your time. The Alpha Annyas are never going to accept you or you and Charls being together. And that goes for any other sorority you try to be a part of. Everyone knows the kind girl you are now. You’re tainted. The only way you’ll be in a sorority now is if you start your own, party of one.”

Screenshot-4491

I am so dazed by all she has said that I am unable to respond. She apparently takes that as me admitting to all she has accused me of, and then smiles at me.

“See you around Abby,” she says, and then she walks off toward the sliding door leading into the house.

I just stare at the place where she last stood, frozen to my spot. So, that was what everyone thought. Not only did they think I was a snitch, they also thought I was a cheater. I can’t believe people actually think I was cheating with Charls on Brad. Charls and I had been only friends until after Brad and I had broken up. Just friends.

I then suddenly think back to the night that Charls and I had shared together in his room all those months ago. The next morning when Brad and his frat brothers came in, they basically watched me do the walk of shame out the front door. Could that be why they thought this?

But even so, Brad and I had already broken up when that night happened. Charls had just been trying to make me feel better about everything. That was one thing I really do love about him. He has always been there for me when I need him. I never have had to worry about him cancelling on me, or ditching me for made up reasons. He was always there.

Screenshot-4492

I am thinking about this when I hear my name being called from behind. Charls is standing not too far from me.

Screenshot-4496

“Hey babe,” he says, taking my hands into his. “I’m glad you made it. You were pretty tense all week, so I wasn’t sure.”

I smile at him nervously. “You could tell?”

“Of course. I know you pretty well.” He then sighs. “So I talked to a couple of the guys about everything.”

“And?”

“And they didn’t say much.”

I bite my lip. “Is that a bad thing?”

“It’s hard to say. I guess we will have to wait and see.”

Screenshot-4497

When he sees the unsure look on my face, Charls smiles and twirls me into his arms.

“Don’t worry, everything is going to be fine.”

I sigh. “I hope so.”

Screenshot-4506

He then holds me close and we dance together in the stillness of the night. The backyard was now empty since everyone had gone back inside, so Charls and I get to dance together in private. Looking into his beautiful blue eyes, I feel a sense of calm. Maybe he was right. Maybe everything would be okay.

I then glance up at the sliding door entrance and see some of his frat brothers standing with Taylor watching us. They do not look happy. I feel my stomach clench. Maybe I was wrong.

Screenshot-4510

I pull Charls closer to me and press my cheek upon his.

“Charls,” I whisper. “Your frat brothers are totally watching us.”

Charls laughs. “So?”

“So, they don’t look too happy to see us together.”

Charls glances over at the door. As soon as they notice us staring, Taylor and the rest of them turn and walk away.

I sigh. “I don’t know Charls, I really want to be with you, but I don’t want to make things awkward for you and your frat brothers. Maybe we should just…” I drift off not knowing exactly what I want to say.

Screenshot-4499

“I should just go,” I say finally and start to leave, but Charls pulls me back to him.

“You’re right. It might have been wishful thinking to expect that everything was going to go smoothly right away. But I think it will in time.”

“But what if it doesn’t?” I ask.

“It will.”

“But if it doesn’t?”

Charls smiles at me and I feel my heart beat faster. “We’ll cross that road when we come to it,” he says.

Screenshot-4500

I open my mouth to protest, but he presses his lips onto mine, shushing me completely. Not that I mind, I had been waiting for him to do that to me all night. As always with him, my worries all seem to vanish when he kisses me. In that moment, I forget about Kimberly not talking to me, or Clare and Taylor’s vendetta against me, or Charls frat brothers. Being here in Charls arms, everything feels right.

Screenshot-4525

By the time I get back to my dorm, it is almost four in the morning. Lizzie is fast asleep, so I tiptoe over to my side of the room and get dressed for bed quietly.

Screenshot-4526

As I slip into bed, I think back on everything Taylor had said to me. I still can’t believe that everyone had bought into all that crap. And who had started that rumor in the first place? I then shake my head. Who else could have started it? It had to have been Brad himself. Thank goodness, he was gone for the quarter.

I then lie back upon my pillows. There had to be a way to get Charls frat brothers to like me. Maybe somehow I could get through to them and make them understand what happened. I then sigh. It was probably a lost cause, but it was definitely worth a try.

 

-Evanglina

 

 

Leave a Reply

