Chapter 58: Study Session (Lizzie’s POV)

Screenshot-674

The weeks seem to fly by and before I know it, it’s already May. In just a month and a half, I will be finished with a whole year of college. It’s crazy.

Kendal gets wrapped up in his Chemistry lab class, so I don’t see him for the next few weeks. I spend most of my free time continuing my Friday movie night routine with Janice and Michael. It’s a nice break from all the studying for my communications class. Michael and I have our hands full.

Screenshot-678

Which is another thing. The more time I spend with Michael, I feel more and more confused about us. It probably doesn’t help that Janice is always making jokes and giving me the eye while the three of us are hanging out. I honestly wish she would just let it go.

Screenshot-818

With a test coming up that current Friday, Janice and I decided to do a study session at the library. Being Monday, that gives us plenty of time to study before hand.

“You ready to go?” Janice calls as she heads to the door.

I nod and pick up my backpack. “Sure thing.”

Screenshot-1383

About twenty minutes later, we both find ourselves in the library in a serious study session.

Janice borrows my laptop to look up some scholarly articles for her English paper and I use the library computer to look up some facts for my communications debate.

“So, how are things with you and Michael?” Janice asks looking at me.

“Really?” I glance over at Janice. “You’re still on that?”

Screenshot-1385

Janice chuckles. “I’m sorry, I can’t help it.”

“Michael and I are just friends,” I say for like the thousandth time. “I’m with Kendal.”

“And where has he been the past few weeks?”

“Focused on his chem classes,” I protest. “You know that. You saw him in the lab.”

“I guess. Still, I’m surprised he hasn’t really contacted you.”

Screenshot-1386

“He has! We talk on the phone every few days and text all the time. It’s just until the end of the quarter, which is in a month and a half. And then we will be able to see each other more often.”

“Okay, but I still say you protest too much.”

I roll my eyes again. “Whatever. So what’s going on with your protest? It is still happening?”

Screenshot-1388

Janice opens her mouth to answer, but then freezes when we notice someone approach our table. It’s Abby!

“Hey, guys,” Abby says quietly.

I have no idea what to say or do. What was Abby doing here?

“Hey Abby,” says Janice, “what’s up?”

Abby shifts her weight to her other hip nervously. “Well, I-I need to talk to you guys about something.”

Screenshot-1391

Janice logs out of my laptop and stashes it in my backpack and I look up from my computer.

“So, what’s on your mind?” Janice asks.

Abby swallows. “Well you see, I have kind of been going through some stuff over the past month and it has kind of affected my classes. I’m not really doing well.”

I frown. “Well, what do you want from us?”

“I-I wanted to know if maybe you could help tutor me.”

Screenshot-1392

My eyebrows rise. “You want me to tutor you? Are you serious?”

Abby nods. “Y-yes.” She then sighs. “Look, I know that there are a lot of things that have happened between us, but I was wondering if we could set that all aside for this. I am scared that I might fail some of my classes if I don’t find someone to help me. You are the smartest person I know Lizzie. Could you please help me?”

I stare at Abby speechless. I hadn’t really seen much of her in the past month, apart from seeing her moping around in the dorm. While I wanted to ask her what was going on, I still couldn’t bring myself to do so. It wasn’t until Michael showed me a video of Brad and Clare sleeping together, that I finally understood what was going on.

“You want my help?” I finally manage to say.

Abby nods. “I really want to pass my classes this quarter or I am going to be put on academic probation.”

I happen to know that there was more to the story than what she was saying (I heard that she got caught using a cheat sheet during a test from the Tri-Fruhms), but I decide not to pry.

Screenshot-1395

I look to Janice who shrugs and nods once. I then sigh. ”Okay.”

Abby raises her eyebrows. “Really?”

I smile politely. “No problem, sit down.”

Abby then takes a seat beside Janice.

Screenshot-1397

We all sit in silence for a few minutes, the only sound being the clicking of keys from the other students in the library and the ticking sound from the hand clock hanging on a nearby wall. It’s so strange. Just a year ago if this had been us, we would have been chatting nonstop. Right now, it seems like neither of us know what to say to each other.

Screenshot-1399

Finally, I decide to break the silence and say what Janice and I are both thinking.

“Abby, I’m sorry about what happened with Brad and Clare.”

Janice looks a bit surprised that I brought it up, but Abby smiles.

“It’s okay,” she says. “I’m actually surprised you didn’t say ‘“I told you so.”’

I frown. “What do you mean?”

Screenshot-1398

“You were right about Brad. Over Christmas break, you told me that you thought he was cheating when I told you he had left early for a family emergency. You were right.”

I sigh. “It’s not something I wanted to be right about.”

We both fall silent.

Screenshot-1402

“Well, Brad is a player and a tool,” Janice says suddenly, making Abby and I both jump. “You can do so much better than him. Clearly he didn’t deserve you if he would choose trash like Clare instead of you.”

Abby laughs. “Thanks, I needed to hear that.” She then checks her watch. “Oh! I have a class in just fifteen minutes. I should probably start heading over.”

“You know, I’m holding a protest in the Quad at 1pm on Friday,” Janice says quickly. “You should come check it out.”

Abby smiles. “So you’re the one holding that,” she says. “Sure. I’d love to stop by.” She then turns back to me. “Thanks again for agreeing to tutor me, Lizzie. It was nice talking to you again.” With a final little wave, she turns and heads out the library doors.

Screenshot-1387

After Abby is gone, I turn back to Janice. “Well that was…weird.”

“It was,” Janice agrees. “But at least she looks like she is getting better.”

I nod. “As better as she can be.” I was still a bit worried. Even as she sat with us, I could still see the pain in her eyes. Brad’s betrayal was really hitting her hard. I did go through a breakup with Kendal, but he didn’t cheat on me with another girl. I can’t imagine how Abby is feeling.

I then look at my phone. “We should head out too,” I say to Janice. “After all, class is going to start for both of us in a bit.”

Janice nods and we both gather our backpacks and leave the library.

-Evanglina

Leave a Reply

