Chapter 46: So Called Date Night (Abby’s POV)

Screenshot-559

By the time my date with Brad rolls around, I am reeling with excitement. I haven’t really seen him since the New Years Eve party and I am dying for a night of romance with him.

So far, things were not going really the way that I wanted. Brad said he had some last minutes things to take care of, so he wanted to meet up at the restaurant. I am a bit irritated, but truthfully, I am so happy to see him, that I don’t mind.

“I’m on my way to the restaurant. See you soon!” I text Brad. I then head out the door.

Screenshot-1204

I arrive at the restaurant fifteen minutes later. The place looks beautiful. Brad has really out done himself.  If things go well, he might even get “lucky.” It had been a while since we had been together and I was definitely getting in the mood.

Screenshot-1206

The restaurant looks even more beautiful from the inside. By the door is a lovely water fountain. It gives the room nice peaceful energy. Spotting at table by the window, I wander over and take a seat.

Screenshot-1208

From the window, I can see the University Lake far off in the distance. It looks beautiful in the reflection of the darkening sky. Brad had picked a wonderful place. If only he was here. I am a bit surprised. I expected him to be sitting at one of the tables when I walked in through the door, but unfortunately the room was empty apart from me.

Screenshot-1210

After waiting for over thirty minutes, I am starting to feel my excitement decrease. Maybe Brad wasn’t going to show up. No. He wouldn’t do this to me again. He had never stood me up at an actual place before. He must just be late.

Screenshot-1213

I pull out my phone and check the time. It has been over an hour. I decide to send another text to Brad:

-Hey Babe, where are you? I’m at the restaurant waiting! Are you okay?”

I then wait another twenty minutes, but I get no response. I am starting to feel more and more doubtful that Brad will show up.

Screenshot-1212

It’s another hour before I finally give up. It is clear that Brad isn’t showing up, if the fact that he was ignoring my text and calls is any indication. I am fuming. I can’t believe that he would stand me up and in public. The waitress had already been to my table seven times and by now, I think she probably finds me very pathetic.

Screenshot-1218

Looking off to the other side of the room, I spot a bar counter.

“Can I get you anything?” the bartender asks as I approach her.

“I’ll take whatever you got that’s hard.”

“Coming right up.” She says.

Screenshot-1219

She then starts preparing my drink. “Date didn’t show up?” she asks.

I look up at her. “You noticed?” She nods and I sigh deeply. “I guess I should have expected it. He’s been cancelling our plans a lot for the past month. It’s driving me insane. I guess I thought that today would be different.”

“Ah, that doesn’t sound good. You think he might be-”

“No.” I cut her off quickly. “My boyfriend isn’t like that. He’s just president of his fraternity, meaning he has a lot of responsibility. I understand, but I think it’s really starting to get to me.”

Screenshot-1224

The bartender pours the drink into a martini glass and then hands it to me.

“Well, I’m sorry about all that. I hope things do work out for you. But if I am being completely honest, this guy definitely needs to get his priorities straight.”

I nod. “No argument here.”

Screenshot-1225

I take a sip from the glass and step back slightly. The drink is a lot stronger than I expected.

“Thanks,” I say. “What do I owe you?”

The bartender waves her hand. “Don’t worry about it, it’s on the house.”

I smile. “Thanks.”

“No problem. I am closing up though, so you might want to call yourself a cab.”

Screenshot-1226

I nod and gulp down the rest of the drink trying to ignore the burning sensation in my throat. You’d think I would have learned my lesson from Saturday night. Oh well, anything is better than this awful feeling I have in my chest. I am so furious with Brad that I can’t see straight.

At that moment, my phone begins to ring. I glance down and grit my teeth. Speak of the devil, it’s Brad.

Screenshot-1227

“What do you want?” I snap into the phone.

“Abby,” Brad says slowly, “let me explain.”

“No, Brad, I don’t want to hear it. I can’t believe you stood me up! I am so sick of this! You have been cancelling on me like this for the past month! You even stood me up over winter break!”

“Abby, I told you that was an emergency-”

“I don’t even know if I believe you anymore.” I scoff. “I so furious that I can’t even talk to you right now. I have to go.”

“Abby, wait-”

“No Brad! Don’t call me again until you have figured out your priorities!” I then hang up on him.

Screenshot-1229

I feel slightly out of breath afterwards. The room is now completely bare matching the feeling in my heart. I feel empty and alone. Maybe I was too hard on Brad. I then shake my head. No. What I said was right. I was sick of Brad treating me like this. I can’t do this anymore.

Still, I had a sinking feeling in my chest. Little by little, I felt like we were starting to grow apart.

-Evanglina

Leave a Reply

