Year 2: Chapter 36: A Night Out (Abby & Lizzie’s POV)

Abby’s POV

screenshot-5394-2

I’m surprised by how fast the month of January is going. It feels like it just started, but now it is already almost the end of the month. Only one week to go!

The date of the food/donation drive is almost here and I am so psyched! I have been having Tatyana and Selena pass out flyers, including giving some to Moana to pass around as well. The more publicity we can get, the better. Kimberly even said she would talk to someone on the campus newspaper and the campus radio about covering it. I have to say, she really has the making of being a marketer. Maybe I should keep her on retainer for my art. People will be buying my art in no time! Not that it will be that simple. It is no easy task breaking into the art scene, but I’m pretty sure Kimberly could be a big help.

As I am sitting in Astronomy Friday afternoon, I get a text from Charls,

-Hey babe! I miss you. You up for a night out tonight?

-Charls

I smile. I have been giving him a bit of a hard time after the whole “fighting with Brad” incident. I did forgive him, but I was still a bit annoyed about the whole “macho man” routine. I am not some price to be won over. He should know that. And all Brad and I did was dance. I was just being polite. But nonetheless, it was over and I think it was time I give Charls a break.

I text him back,

-Sure. I’ll swing by your dorm at eight.

Love, Abby

Hey, who said the guy had to always pick the girl up?

screenshot-3686-2

When I get back home, I spend the rest of the evening painting and staring anxiously at the clock. It has been weeks since Charls and I had a night out and I was really looking forward it.

When the clock finally strikes 7:50pm, I am so happy to grab my purse and head out the door, calling “later” over my shoulder to Janice and Kimberly who are hanging out in the family room. Janice was apparently showing Kimberly how to play Halo. Oh yes, Janice’s sisters had apparently “permanently lent us” their Xbox 360 with the headsets and controllers. I’m telling you, I’m starting to think Janice may have some money up her sleeve.

screenshot-5424-2

I pick up Charls fifteen minutes later and boy do we have a night on the town! We first head to the diner to get fries and chocolate milkshakes (mine was strawberry), something I haven’t done in a long time. Charls has to restrain himself from laughing at my excitement. We then go back to the Grotto and play some pool for an hour. We would have stayed longer, but then I hear from someone nearby that R.E.D club is having half-off for club admission. So without hesitation, I drag Charls right over there.

screenshot-5428-2

And boy am I happy I did. The club is amazing. Although it’s not as jam packed, I have a blast dancing with Charls under the strobe lights. The DJ is playing some killer tunes and I don’t leave the dance floor for a break for at least an hour.

screenshot-5434-2

I don’t know if it is the music or the feeling of the room, but Charls and I suddenly get swept away in each other and end up making out hardcore on the dancefloor. And I mean hardcore. You would have thought that the two of us had been on something. I guess absence does make the heart grow fonder.

screenshot-5436-2

We dance for a while longer before Charls says he needs a pause break.

“I’m going to grab something from the bar. Do you want anything?”

I smile. “I’ll just take a club soda.”

Charls smirks and heads over to the bartender. I know that he is recalling how I was downing drinks here last year. Well, not this time around, especially with some weird guy dressed in blue that is on the dance floor practically groping everyone. I am about to laugh when I realize who it is…

 

screenshot-4629-2

“Brad?”

I step back as he nearly falls on top of me.

His eyes look dazed as he tries to focus on me.

“Abby? Abby, is that you?” he asks. His voiced is slurred as he tries to form his sentence.

“Yes,” I say slowly.

He then grins and takes my hands into his. “Come on, dance with me.”

I blink and move back as he staggers in step. “Whoa, you are really wasted,” I say trying to hold back laughter. I have never ever seen him this drunk before.

Brad waves his head. “Just a bit buzzed. That’s all.”

I raise an eyebrow. “You’re more than just a bit buzzed Brad. You did come here with someone right?”

screenshot-4626-2

Brad shakes his head, while still trying to dance. “I walked over from the gym.”

“Right… Are you sure you didn’t drive here?”

“Nope. What’s with the third degree? Dance with me.” He grabs me again and this time I have some trouble getting him off. It’s funny to think that this time last year I would have loved to be grabbed by him like that.

screenshot-4628-2-2

I back myself slowly out of arms just in time to see Charls appear right behind me. He does not look happy. At all.

“What’s going on?” he says firmly.

“Well, I think your frat president is a bit drunk.”

“No kidding.”

Brad shakes his head. “N-no I’m n-not,” he says and stumbles backwards almost falling on the girl dancing beside him.

I glance at Charls. “I think we should take him back.”

screenshot-5440-2

Charls gives me a look of surprise. “What?”

“I said we should take him back to the frat house. It’s getting late anyway.” My eyes are still glued to Charls who is trying to make his way over to a nearby couch.

Charls tilts his head to the side. “You want us to cut our date, just to take him back?”

I frown. “Well yah.”

“Why?”

“Because he’s your frat brother. We can’t just leave him here.”

“This isn’t the first time he has done this. He used to do this all the time last year. You know, the nights when he wasn’t with you?”

screenshot-5441-2

I know what he is getting at, which annoys me a bit.

“Nice,” I say giving Charls a look. “Do you really think this is the time to bring up him and Clare?”

“I’m sorry. I’m just trying to say that you don’t have to worry about him. He’ll be fine. He’ll probably just get some girl to help him back.”

I glance at the clock. “Charls, it’s almost the club’s closing time. I really think we should take him back.” I glance over at Brad who is practically doubling over. What on Earth possessed him to drink so much?

screenshot-5442-2

Charls looks at me hard for a minute and then sighs.

“Fine. Whatever.”

He looks totally pissed off, but I try to ignore it. We both then balance Brad’s arms on our shoulders and lead him out of the club to my car. It takes a few minutes, but we manage to push him into the backseat. Even drunk, Brad still has some strength left in him.

screenshot-4635-2

When we arrive back at the dorm, Brad opens the door to my car before I completely come to a stop. Charls has to jump out to support him so Brad doesn’t going falling to the ground. Unfortunately, he doesn’t seem too grateful.

“Get off me Charrrlss,” he slurs. “I don’t need your help.”

Charls happy obliges. “Suit yourself.” He then let’s go and Brad almost topples onto the floor.

screenshot-4636-2

“Charls!” I say rushing over, but Brad manages to pick himself up. He then staggers over to the house slowly.

Just as he reaches the doorstep, he turns around and calls to me,

“Hey Abby, you want to come in? I’ll make it worth your while.”

I open my mouth, but Charls cuts me off.

“Brad, just get in there,” he says. I can tell he wants to say more, but isn’t because of me. Brad gives us one last smirk and then he finally makes it up the stairs (terribly) and into the house.

screenshot-4642-2-2

I turn to Charls afterward and smile. “Thanks, Charls. I know you really didn’t want to help.”

Charls rolls his eyes and shrugs. “Sure.”

screenshot-4645-2-2

He starts to turn in the direction of the house, but I pull him to me and give him a kiss.

“I’m sorry I cut our date. I just felt bad about leaving him there. He looked kind of pitiful.”

That seems to put a bit of a smirk on his face.

I laugh. “Raincheck?”

Charls moves a strand of my hair behind my ear and then kisses me gently. “All right.”

screenshot-4647-2-2

“Well, I better go make sure Brad doesn’t upchuck all over the place.” He gives me one last kiss and then he heads over to the doorstep.

I honestly do feel bad about cutting our date, but for some reason I just couldn’t leave Brad there. I know what happened between us, but I just felt really bad for him there. I don’t know. Ever since that night at the New Year’s Eve party, I have just noticed something different about him. He doesn’t seem like the same guy that cheated on me last year. Maybe he had changed. And if he had, shouldn’t I finally let him off the hook?

Whatever the case, I figure I’ll worry about it another day. I then jump into my car and drive off home.

 

Lizzie’s POV

screenshot-5421-2

I don’t see Kendal in the next writing club meeting. I find it a bit odd since we only had our reading the week before, but I figure maybe he is a bit bashful about the poem he read. It was really heartfelt and emotional, something I wasn’t even used to seeing in Kendal.

The weeks seem like they are flying by that it feels strange to me. January is already almost gone and February is upon us. Of course, that excites me, thinking about Valentine’s Day and sharing it with Michael, but I still can’t believe how fast time is flying.

Friday, I finish my Geology class after an exam on sedimentary rocks. I passed with flying colors! I am pretty proud too. I study for the past week for that test.

screenshot-4137-2

After class, I head straight to the library. With my philosophy paper, due on Monday, I decide it might be a good idea to finish it. I only have five pages left, so I figure I can get it done in the next few hours.

screenshot-4138-2

Sure enough, I finish in two hours and spend another forty minutes fact checking everything before saving a copy to my computer and flash drive. I’ll probably still go over it one more time before I turn it in on Monday. Yes, I am that paranoid.

I then decide to work on my novel some more. I have made myself a goal. I want this to be my last edit and then I am going to start querying this summer. I am very nervous about this, but I have to start somewhere. I have to try.

screenshot-4140-2

I really like how things are with my characters Serena, Paul and George. There is a great dynamic between the three of them. You can really see the dilemma she is in and that there is no right answer. The only thing a little awkward for me, are the “love” scenes. So, that was one thing that everyone seemed to attack me on. They weren’t sensual enough. You couldn’t feel the heat and passion between Serena and Paul and even with George. So I did my best to add it in. I don’t know, maybe it is due to the fact that I have never “made love” to anyone, but whatever the case, the changes I made seem to suit everyone. I gave some of my newly revised love scenes to the critique group and everyone seemed to love it. I still am getting used to the idea, but I must say, it even gets me a little hot and bothered.

screenshot-4142-2

I am so into my editing that I jump when I spot Kendal making his way over to me from far end of the library.

“Kendal!” I say, slamming my laptop down. I don’t know why I did that, but hopefully he didn’t notice.

Kendal smiles. “Hey Elizabeth, how are you?”

“I’m okay, you? I haven’t seen you at the writing club meetings.”

screenshot-4145-2

Kendal sighs. “Yes, I know. I’ve been pretty busy. I think I was being a tad optimistic when I decided to take on twenty credits this quarter.” He sets his bag down. “Mind if I sit?”

I shake my head. “Not at all.”

screenshot-4147-2

Kendal takes a seat across from me. “So, what brings you to the library today?”

“Well, I was finishing a paper from philosophy and then I decided to work on some of my story edits.”

Kendal looks intrigued. “Really? Care to have some feedback?”

screenshot-4148-2

I find myself blushing a bit. “Normally yes, but these chapters are a little…intense.” I clear my throat.

Kendal frowns. “What do you mean?”

“Well, I mean, sensual.”

“Oh.” Kendal smiles. “That’s okay with me. I still would love to hear what you have. If you don’t mind.”

screenshot-4165-2

I look at him for a few seconds and then sigh. “All right.” I then open my laptop and load it back to the page. “Here goes nothing.”

I then awkwardly read line by line the entire section that I had been working on, the love scene between Serena and George. It was supposed to happen later after the scene where she tells Paul that their relationship did not mean anything to her. Serena then goes home to where George is waiting for her. He asks her where she was and that he was worried sick about her. It had been raining heavily during her walk home, so she was completely soaked. Without answering his questions, she just jumps into his arms kissing him passionately, which then leads into a lovemaking session.

I read this section softly, so as not to attract attention to us. I know I am being a bit over the top, but I am a very private person when it comes to well…sex.

I clear my throat again. “Serena gripped the soft skin of George’s upper back as he continuously pressed himself onto her. The sounds of her staggered breathing echoed through the darkness of the room, silenced by him pressing his mouth against hers. “I love you,” he whispered into the warmth of her lips and they sank back against the satin sheets of his mattress.”

screenshot-4152-2

Kendal looks at me in silence, but then nods his head. “That-that was good. Very.” I can tell he is a bit flabbergasted and I can’t help but chuckle.

“You think so? It wasn’t too much?”

“On the contrary, I think it was just enough.”

screenshot-4154-2

“Really?”

Kendal nods. “I liked the way you show the passion between George and Serena. After all the tension between the two of them from all her sneaking off to Paul, she finally sets things right by realizing who she really wants to be with. The scene really shows the love that they share and the unresolved sexual tension that has been building between the two them.”

As much as I love Kendal’s interpretation, he is only half right. While it is true that Serena does love George and does make love to him, it is only because she is trying to rid herself of her thoughts of Paul. But if Kendal were to keep reading, he would see that within a few chapters, Serena goes running back to Paul and they have an even more passionate reunion.

screenshot-4153-2

However, I don’t want to ruin his excitement, so I just nod. “Very intuitive.”

Kendal coughs slightly. “Although, I must say, I didn’t know you could write scenes so passionately.”

I blush slightly. “Well, it did take quite a bit of rewriting and editing to get it right.”

“Well, you certainly wrote it perfectly. The scenes are filled with lust, passion and desire.” Strange, but as he says this, he gives me a funny look and his cheeks start to redden slightly.

I grin. “I actually didn’t think I would be able to tap into that. Especially since I have never been intimate like that with anyone.”

Kendal is still staring at me. “That doesn’t mean you still can’t feel. Or imagine what it would be like.”

screenshot-4160-2

I blink feeling a bit uneasy. “I um,” I start, but then stop when I see someone approach our table.

“Hey Lizzie,” says Michael. He then glances at Kendal and then back to me frowning. “What’s going on?”

“N-nothing,” I say tucking a strand of my hair behind my ear. “W-we were just talking about my novel.”

Michael nods. “Yes, how is that going by the way?”

“It’s going okay-”

“It’s going great,” Kendal jumps in. “She was just reading to me some of her chapter’s “love scenes.” They are pretty good.”

screenshot-4163-2

Michael’s eyebrows go up. “Love scenes?”

I wave my hand. “Just a scene from one of the chapters. It’s no big deal.”

Kendal rises from his seat. “But it is, Elizabeth. You’ve really tapped into something there that I think will resonate with the readers. There is so much passion in those scenes, which is very relatable to anyone with feelings running that deep.” He gives me that funny look again and then pulls his backpack over his shoulder.

“I’ll see you around, Elizabeth,” he says and then he walks off toward the library doors.

screenshot-4187-2

I then start packing up my bag as well.

“What…the…hell, was that?” Michael asks.

I look up. “What?”

“You read love scenes to Kendal?”

I sigh. “It wasn’t like that. He just wanted to help me with my book and that happened to be the scene I was working on. I wasn’t going to read them, but he insisted. So, I just read him that scene and that was it.”

screenshot-4186-2

“Why would you do that?” Michael looks confused. “Especially since he still has feelings for you?”

“He does not have feelings for me, Michael.”

“Have you seen the way that guy looks at you?”

“Yes, like a friend.”

“Yah right.”

“Michael!”

Michael sighs. “Lizzie, or should I say Elizabeth.” I smirk at that. “I don’t see how you can’t see that Kendal still has feelings for you. Why else would a guy sit there and listen to you read him love scenes in the middle of a library?”

screenshot-4192-2

I smile and put my arms around Michael. “Michael, Kendal doesn’t have feelings for me. And even if he did, I don’t care because I am too busy being in love with you.” I give him a quick kiss. “I love you Michael, and Kendal knows that. It’s why we broke up in the first place; because he knew that I had feelings for you.”

“Liz-”

“We are just friends Michael. Only friends. I promise.”

screenshot-4191-2

I them pull him into a hug before he can say anything.

“Also,” I whisper in his ear, “I was only able to write those scenes because of my feelings for you.”

Michael looks very amused. “Oh really?”

“Yes really.” I then glance at the wall clock in the library. It’s getting to seven. “Walk me to my car, kind sir?” I ask.

Michael smiles. “As you wish, my lady.”

We then walk hand in hand to my car out parked out front.

 

-Evanglina

Leave a Reply

