Chapter 45: Awkward Encounters (Abby & Lizzie’s POV)

Abby’s POV 

Screenshot-364

I don’t hear back from Brad until Tuesday after class.

“I’m sorry I haven’t gotten back to you,” he says when I give him another call.

“Yah, what’s going on? More frat stuff?”

“Yah, I’m sorry,” says Brad. He sounds a bit breathless.

“Hey, have you been working out or something? You sound exhausted.”

“Oh um…yah. Look, I got to go. Can we talk later?”

“Um sure,” I say. I feel a little disappointed that he wants to leave so soon.

“Hey, why don’t we get together next Friday? We haven’t had a date night in a while and there is this nice restaurant I want to take you to.”

I smile. “Okay, that sounds nice.”

“All right, I’ll pick up next Friday at eight?”

“Yup. Love you.”

“Love you too.”

Screenshot-409

After getting off the phone with Brad, I feel a bit better. We may have not talked for long, but at least we had a date for next Friday. I only wish it were for this week. The last time we had a date night was during Christmas break and even with that, Brad had cut it short. Maybe this was his way of making up.

I head back home and warm up some hot chili soup from the fridge. As soon as I finish eating it, I get a text from Clare:

-Meet up at my dorm in ten

-Clare

I sigh. I wasn’t really that thrilled to be seeing her. Clare had been acting very weird toward me since that party way back in October. Ever since, it had felt like we were in some kind of competition.

Screenshot-417

It takes me fifteen minutes to get to Clare’s place and when I arrive, she is standing in front of the building. She looks a little ruffled, as if she was rolling around on the floor.

“Rough day?” I ask.

Clare smirks. “Actually, I have been having a wonderful day. You?”

“Okay I guess.”

Screenshot-418

“You heard from Brad lately?” Clare asks. I don’t know what it is, but the way she asks me sounds strangely vindictive.

“Yes I have actually,” I say, ignoring her smirk. “In fact, we have a date for next Friday.”

Clare’s expression fades. “What?”

“He’s taking me to a nice restaurant downtown. It’s going to be amazing.” I close my eyes and sigh. “Anyway, what is it that you needed to see me for?”

Clare stares at me in silence for a minute. I detect a bit of resentment in her expression.

“What is it?” I ask.

“Nothing,” she snaps. “Anyways, the reason why I wanted to meet up with you was because Charlotte wanted me to talk to you. She’s getting together this charity thing for the Tri-Fruhms and she wants us all to be there. You would have known, but you didn’t show up to the meeting yesterday.”

Screenshot-419

I frown. “What meeting?”

“The meeting I texted you about.”

“You didn’t text me about anything yesterday Clare,” I say shaking my head. I had been checking my phone like crazy while waiting for a message from Brad, that I would have seen it.

Clare shrugs. “Well I did,” she says. “I don’t know why you didn’t get it. Must be something wrong with your phone.” She then waves her hand. “Anyways, I’ll keep you posted. I’ve got to get to class.” And with that, Clare turns and heads inside her dorm.

I just stare after her in irritation. It was the second time she had forgotten to give me important information. I was starting to feel like she was doing it on purpose. Still, I had no proof of it. I would have to wait it out.

Lizzie’s POV

Screenshot-510

I am relieved when I enter into my communications class and see Michael seated there. I quietly make my way over to him.

“Hey,” I whisper quietly.

Michael looks up. “Lizzie, hey.” He doesn’t look very happy to see me. Sighing, I take a deep breath and sit beside him.

Screenshot-511

The professor then enters the class and begins going over the syllabus.

“I’ve been trying to get a hold of you for the past couple days,” I whisper to him. “What’s been going on?”

Michael shrugs. “Sorry, I guess I’ve been busy.” He pulls out his notebook and starts taking some notes.

“That’s all you have to say?”

“What else do you want me to say?”

“Michael!” I whisper loudly. I look around to make sure I didn’t attract the attention of my professor. “I have been calling you for the past few days. What happened? I haven’t seen you since Saturday. That is unless you were at the movies yesterday.”

Michael flinches slightly. “I don’t know what you mean.”

Screenshot-518

I pull out my notebook to take notes as well. “You know what I mean Michael. Are you mad at me or something? Did I do something wrong?”

“No Lizzie, I’m not.” Michael sighs. “Look, I just got tired on Saturday, so I headed back to my apartment. And then I’ve just been busy the past two days. I’m sorry I haven’t gotten back to you.”

I look over at him for a while, but then stop. “Okay, if you say so.”

We then spend the rest of the class period in silence just taking notes.

Screenshot-520

Soon the class period ends. I expect Michael to just take off, but to my surprise, he hangs back.

“So, how did things go with Kendal?”

“At the beach, or last night?” Michael opens his mouth and then closes it. I think he realizes that I caught him in his lie. I know it was him last night.

“It went better last night than it did at the beach. We talked things over.”

“Oh. So you and Kendal…”

“I decided to give him another chance. He apologized for everything and I forgave him.”

Michael scoffs and I frown at him. “What?”

“I don’t know, I guess I’m just a bit surprised. Kendal doesn’t strike me as the apologizing type.”

“Well he did, and he meant it.”

“If you say so.” I open my mouth to respond, but he continues. “Still, I’m surprised with you. He treated you like crap. He refused to believe you when you told him what really happened. Lizzie, he basically neglected you for two months before finally dumping you before winter break. I can’t believe you forgave him for all that.”

My eyes widen. “Michael, it’s complicated,” I start, but he shakes his head.

Screenshot-522

“Look, it’s your life Lizzie. I’m just looking out for you.”

“I’m fine Michael,” I say firmly. “It was just a misunderstanding. Kendal is a good guy.”

Michael and I stare at each other for several seconds before he finally swings his backpack over his shoulder.

“All right Liz,” he says with a little smile. “Anyways, I should go. My next class starts in ten minutes. I’ll see you.” With that, he turns and runs out the door.

I stare after him in silence. Even though I didn’t want to admit it, Michael had made a very good point. Kendal had done all those things he had said. Had I forgiven Kendal too quickly? Well, it was too late for me to do anything now. Besides, I did believe Kendal wanted to make things different. In fact, we had a date coming up in the next week. And I didn’t want to Michael’s remark to ruin it. I had forgiven Kendal and it was the right choice for me. We were back together and I was happy. Wasn’t I?

-Evanglina

Leave a Reply

