Chapter 29: Returning Home: Part 2 (Abby’s POV)

Screenshot-1562

After the Greyhound arrives at the Aberdale bus station, I pull out my phone and call a cab. It arrives in seven minutes and after loading everything into the trunk and backseat, we are off. It feels so weird to be back in Aberdale again. Seeing all the familiar buildings and streets makes me feel like a kid again.

Screenshot-1569

By the time I get home, it’s nearly twelve in the morning.

“Mom, Tommy, I’m home,” I call loudly.

“We‘ll be right down!” my mom calls.

I then look over to the table and see mom and Tommy’s dishes on the table. They must have just finished eating.

Screenshot-1571

Feeling bad, I decide to take their dishes to the dishwasher. Mom and Tommy must have been waiting to eat dinner with me, but I took longer than expected. That honestly wasn’t the plan. The bus was held up at one of the stops. Even Janice was scared that she might miss her plane. I hope she was able to make it. I fell asleep when we got to her stop and I guess she didn’t want to wake me. She just left a note on my purse saying “Didn’t want to wake you. Have a great break!”

Screenshot-1576

I place the dishes in the washer and then turn to have my mother pull me to her tightly.

“Abby! You’re back!” she says happily. She is nearly crushing me to death.

“Yes, I am.”

“Goodness! I haven’t seen you since you left three months ago!”

“I know, I’m sorry. School got kind of…hectic.” That was an understatement.

Screenshot-1577

Mom pulls away and is about to ask me why, when Tommy comes running into the kitchen.

“Tommy!” I squeal and then squeeze him to death.

“Hey Abby! I’m glad your home!”

“Me too! I missed you!”

“I missed you too!”

Screenshot-1579

“All right Tommy, you saw her, now it’s off to bed.”

“But, mom-”

“No buts. Bed, now.”

Tommy gives her a look and then sighs. “Fine. Talk to you later Abby.” He then takes off to the stairs.

“You know, you didn’t have to do that,” I say to mom.

“Yes I did. Abby, it’s almost twelve in the morning.”

“I know, but its winter break.”

My mom waves her. “Forget that. What I want to know, is why you didn’t tell me you were coming on a bus! I thought you were coming home with Lizzie. What happened?”

Screenshot-1583

I sigh and head for the stairs. “I’m really tired mom. Can we talk about it tomorrow?”

“But-”

“Please?”

My mom shrugs her shoulders. “All right. Do you need help taking your things up?”

“I think I can manage. Night.” I then walk up the staircase to my room.

Screenshot-1585

My room welcomes me with the scent of lavender filling my nostrils. Mom must have sprayed some room spray in here. That was always her way of keeping a room smelling clean. I instantly feel at home. I can’t believe it has been months since I have been in here.

Even though it is late, I force myself to bring all my suitcases up from downstairs and then unpack everything (I will definitely be doing some shopping this week for new clothes to wear next quarter).

Screenshot-1589

After unpacking, I slip into my p.j.s and under my covers. I can’t lie; it feels so nice to be back in my old bed. Within minutes, I am fast asleep.

(Sorry for the delay in posts! I have a longer chapter coming next! Also, my new story blog, Kisses, Lexie, will be premiering this week! Look out! More soon!

Link for Kisses, Lexie: https://kisseslexiewright.wordpress.com/)

-Evanglina

Leave a Reply

