Chapter 35: The Return (Lizzie’s POV)

Screenshot-1704

The Snowman I built on Christmas, is able to endure the last week of December. I wonder if it will last until the end of the month. I however, don’t know if I will even be staying until New Years.

Screenshot-1638

As I am finishing up the seventeenth chapter (yes, I am now officially halfway though) of my story, I get a text from Janice.

-Hey Lizzie!

I haven’t heard from you in a while. I hope your holiday is going great. Just wanted to let you know that I am coming back to the campus early. There is going to be an awesome New Year’s Eve party on the beach and Greg invited me. You should think about coming! It’s going to be fun! Well, I’ll talk to you soon

~Janice.

A New Year’s Eve party on the beach? That actually sounded amazing! I hadn’t really felt like going to any events after the Tri-Fruhm incident, but going to a beach party with Janice sounds like fun. I decide to think it over, but I know I have to think fast. The party is in only two days. After slipping on some new clothes, I head downstairs.

Screenshot-1706

I am watching an encore performance of Mary Poppin’s, when my dad enters the family room.

“Hello Lizzie,” he says. “And how is my darling daughter today?”

I laugh. “I’m fine dad. Just watching a movie.”

Screenshot-1708

“This movie again?” My dad says, looking at the screen. “You and your mother are obsessed with it.”

“Hey, it tis the season.”

“So Elizabeth,” my dad says looking at me. “I was wondering if maybe you would like to go visit the Winter festival tomorrow.”

Screenshot-1712

“I totally would dad, but actually, I might be leaving tomorrow.”

My dad looks surprised. “Huh? What do you mean you might leaving?”

“I’m sorry. It’s just that there is this New Year’s Eve thing happening on campus and a friend invited me. Normally, I would say no, but, I kind of want to go. I have had some bad experiences on campus and I would like to wash them all away with good ones. Besides, it would be nice for me to get back up to campus before Abby does.”

“What is going on with the two of you anyways?” my dad asks. “Your mother won’t tell me a thing.”

Screenshot-1713

“It’s just girl stuff dad. Some things that happened that can’t be forgiven.”

“Never?”

“Honestly, I don’t know. Definitely not any time soon.”

My dad looks away and sighs. “I don’t mind if you go, its just that you and I didn’t really spend much time together this break. I know you are an adult and have your own life now, but I still love the father and daughter trips we take together.”

“So do I dad. I’m sorry that I am leaving so soon, but I promise we will make it up. I will be back for the whole summer, which will give us plenty of time to do a lot of things.”

Screenshot-1709

My dad still looks unhappy, but he nods. “All right. I’m going to hold you to that. I love you Liz.”

“I love you too, dad.”

I then head up the stairs to my room to start packing. After I am done, I send Janice a text telling her I am on my way back up as well and that I will meet her there. I then go to sleep.

Screenshot-1726

I decide to wait until early the next morning before heading out. I feel bad leaving early, but I feel like this is good for me. Something tells me that this time around will be better.

My dad pulls me into a bear hug and kisses my forehead. “Now you make sure you write and call us more often this quarter,” he whispers into my ear.

I laugh and nod. “I will. I Promise.”

Screenshot-1727

After a final hug from my mom and Judy, I head off toward my car.

“Call us when you get there!” My mom calls, waving after me.

Screenshot-1728

I then lift up my final suitcase and carry it over to my car. Lucky for me, the Clawson house looks quiet. I definitely will not have to worry about Abby today.

Screenshot-1724

Snow is still falling as I start my car engine and pull out the driveway.

“Bye!” I call to my parents, and Judy, and then I take off down the street.

Screenshot-1723

I drive along with the snowflakes falling all around me. I even let my rooftop down to let the snow fall upon me. It feels weird to be driving without Abby sitting beside me. “Well get used to it,” I tell myself. “Looks like you and Abby are more distant than you ever have been.”

-Evanglina

Leave a Reply

