Chapter 42: The End of the Night (Lizzie’s POV)

Screenshot-329

After leaving the bathrooms, I hurry through the other side of the beach looking for Kendal. I know he was waiting for me. I could tell by the way he had looked at me as I was walking over to him. If Abby hadn’t gotten in my way rambling all that nonsense, I would have gotten over to him. We could have talked, and maybe he could have changed his mind about us.

I search the whole beach before I finally accept that he is gone. He probably saw me with Abby and thought that I didn’t even want to talk to him. I curse to myself and then blink in surprise. I never curse. Look at what Abby is turning me into! Maybe it is for the best that I have distanced myself from her.

Screenshot-391

My phone buzzes and I see a text from Janice. She and Greg left the beach together. I look up and see the last of the fireworks bursting overhead. Some year this is turning out to be. I could have been watching the fireworks with Kendal if it weren’t for Abby. Oh well, at least maybe I could still salvage some of the night with Michael. Speaking of which, where was he? I hadn’t seen him since I took off to find Kendal. Was he even still here?

Screenshot-392

I dial up his number, but it goes straight to voicemail.

“Hey Michael, its Lizzie,” I say, deciding to leave a message. “I just wanted to check and see if you were still at the beach, but it looks like you might have left. I’m heading out too, so call me back when you can. Happy New Year.”

I then click off the phone and head for my car.

Screenshot-395

It’s a quiet drive back home and all the while, I am thinking about Kendal and what he wanted with me. Had he gone to the party to see if I would be there? Did he want to talk things over? Those questions were driving me crazy. Would I get any answers?

Screenshot-333

I am still reeling as I trudge up the stairs to my dorm room. I can’t believe I missed my chance with Kendal and all because of Abby. I grit my teeth. It won’t be too soon before I see her again.

Screenshot-336

After changing into my PJs, I decide to read a bit of my textbook. It feels like the only thing I can do to get my mind off things. I considered continuing my novel, but honestly, if I try to do that right now I won’t be able to concentrate.

Screenshot-337

“Happy New Year!” Janice says, as she walks in thirty minutes later.

I look up and smile. “Happy New Year. Where have you been?”

Janice shrugs as she walks over her dresser. “Greg and I decided to go for a little drive.”

“Uh huh.” I smirk at her.

Screenshot-339

Janice looks at me in surprise. “Are you insinuating something Lizzie?”

I laugh. “I said nothing.”

Janice turns back to her dresser, but I can detect a smile from the corner of her mouth. Someone definitely had a good New Years Eve with Greg. I wish I could say the same.

Screenshot-340

“So what happened to you at the beach?” Janice then asks.

I look up and frown. “What?”

“I saw you standing over with Michael and then you just disappeared.”

“Oh,” I shrug, remembering the events following. “I saw someone I knew.”

Screenshot-341

Janice smiles and walks over to her bed. “Kendal right?”

I look up. “How did you-?”

“I saw him sitting over at the picnic table.”

“Oh.”

“So, did you two talk?”

I scoff. “We never got the chance to. He was trying to get my attention from the other side of the beach, but as I was on my way over, I ran into Abby.”

“Oh Abby,”Janice chuckles. “She was pretty wasted tonight.”

“Tell me about it. She was going on about me ignoring her and even saying that it was partly my fault about what happened all those months ago.”

“Wow,” Janice shakes her head, “She has some nerve.”

“Right!”

Screenshot-345

I sigh and turn the page of my textbook. “Anyways, because of us talking, Kendal thought I didn’t want to meet up and he just left. I was so mad at Abby. I still am actually.”

“I’m sorry.”

“By the way, did you see Michael before you and Greg left? I tried to get a hold of him later, but he never picked up.”

Screenshot-342

Janice stretches and pulls her comforters over her. “I can’t say I did. By the time Greg and I left, I didn’t see him anywhere. He might have already left.”

Screenshot-344

Janice then yawns and lies back against her pillows. “I’m beat though. I think I’m going to sleep. Talk to you in the morning?”

I nod. “Sure thing.” Janice then drifts off to sleep.

Screenshot-346

I study for a few more minutes before placing my textbook back into my backpack. As I lay on my bed, I can’t help but wonder a bit about Michael. Why had he just left like that? And why hadn’t he answered my call? Was he mad at me? And if so, why?

Screenshot-348

After thinking over it for what feels like an hour, I decide to sleep on it. I’m sure whatever is going on with Michael I will find out. Besides, he could have just got tired and left. I’m sure I’ll find out tomorrow. And with that, I drift off to sleep.

-Evanglina

3 thoughts on “Chapter 42: The End of the Night (Lizzie’s POV)

Leave a Reply

