Year 2: Chapter 9: Decisions (Abby’s POV)

Screenshot-4539

I decide not to visit Charls’s frat house for a while. I figure it’s a good way to make things less awkward for Charls. I do however, hear about a pool party that is coming up, and even though I don’t want to make things awkward, I know I can’t miss it.

Screenshot-4572

I have been focusing a lot of time on my paintings. It seems to be one of things that doesn’t bring me stress. After working on my painting little by little, my piece is almost finished. I am supposed to be starting my class project, but I don’t want to do that without finishing my previous one first.

By the third Monday in October, I finish my painting, marveling at all my hard work. All my class lessons have received have really paid off.

Screenshot-4415

As I hurry off to my car, I nearly run into Kimberly who is hurrying off to class.

“Kimberly!” I say, in surprise. “Hey!”

Kimberly smiles. “Hey.”

I can see some uneasiness in her. “I have been trying to get hold of you for the past few weeks! What’s been going on?”

Kimberly looks toward the ground. “Well…”

“Well what? I don’t understand.” I then sigh. “Is this because of what I told you about the Alpha Beta Phi rush party? Are you mad at me?”

Kimberly shakes her head. “No, I’m not mad at you.”

“Then why have you been ignoring me?” I feel some hurt pang in my chest.

Screenshot-4412

Kimberly bites her lip. “You’re going to think I’m stupid and a horrible person.”

I frown. “Why? What is it?”

Kimberly runs a hand through her hair. “Look, the reason I have been ignoring you is…is because I thought maybe it would help me get into the Alpha Beta Phis. I’m so sorry.”

I raise an eyebrow. “What do you mean?”

“I plead my case to the president of Alpha Beta Phi, Ashley. I thought that maybe if I could convince her that all that stuff that happened last year with the Tri-Fruhms wasn’t because of me and was just you, maybe she would reconsider and give me a chance.”

Screenshot-4406

I blink looking at her stunned. “Wow…”
Kimberly exhales deeply. “I know, I know. I am a terrible person. I was just so desperate to get in.”

“But why?”

Kimberly looks at the ground for a minute and then back up at me. “Because of my mom. She wants me to be in a sorority so bad. She was so happy when I got into the Tri-Fruhms. She originally wanted me to be an Alpha Beta Phi, because she was one when they were the best on campus, but when she learned that the Tri-Fruhms had beaten them, she changed her mind. When all that stuff happened last year, she was really mad. She said that I should have just pledged to the Alpha Beta Phis in the first place.” Kimberly sighs again. “I know I shouldn’t care, what she thinks, but she is my mom. I guess I just want her to be proud of me. Also, she could pretty much disown me if she wanted to. I have never really been on my own. My parents have always been my everything. I wouldn’t know how to survive without them. I know that has to change eventually, but for now, that’s how things are.”

I nod. “I-I guess I understand. I just wish you had told me what was going on.”

“I know, I guess I was a bit embarrassed.”

“You don’t have to be. We’re friends Kimberly. If something is going on, you can tell me.”

Screenshot-4404

Kimberly nods her head. “Thanks. That’s nice to hear.” We are both quiet for a minute before she speaks again. “I really am sorry about everything, Abby. I was a really crappy friend. Do you think you could ever forgive me?”

I sigh. “I have no right to judge. I was a pretty crappy friend to Lizzie last year. She found it in her heart to forgive me, so I guess I can do the same for you.”

Kimberly smiles. “Thanks. I have really been wanting to talk to you. I heard you went to the Alpha Annyas party a few weeks ago. How was it?”

I scoff. “Apart from spending time with Charls, it wasn’t that great. I ran into Taylor and found out some interesting news. Both she and Clare are Alpha Beta Phis.”

Kimberly nods. “I know! I got your message about it. I also saw them while I was talking to Ashley. They made sure that she knew that I was involved in everything last year. They then basically told me to take a hike.”

“Well that wasn’t everything Taylor told me.” I then tell Kimberly everything about what Taylor said about me and Charls.

Screenshot-4408

Kimberly looks shocked. “I can’t believe people actually believe that!”

“Me either. Then again, why am I surprised? Brad pretty much rules everything. I’m sure he was the one that told everyone that, just to make himself look better. I don’t care though. That’s not going to stop me from being with Charls.”

Kimberly suddenly pauses, her face looking deep in thought.

“What is it?” I ask.

“I was just thinking about what Taylor said to you before she left. The thing about you being in a sorority.”

“What? That the only way I would be in another sorority is if I start my own?”

“Yes!” Kimberly clasps her hands together. “I think that is a great idea!”

Screenshot-4409

My eyes widen. “What? You’re kidding, right?”

“No, you should! You would be a great sorority leader! After all, you were the one that got the Tri-Fruhms expelled. You have great stance with the school board now, so getting them on board shouldn’t be too difficult. Could you imagine the look on Clare and Taylor’s faces when they find out?”

I just blink at her. “You’re serious?”

“Yes! I think you should give it some thought! You would be a great. I know you had some great ideas for the Tri-Fruhms even though you didn’t get to do much. I think you could be the one to turn all this cliché-ish stuff with all the sororities around. Make it more about the true values of being in a sorority than all this crazy high school-ish stuff. What do you say?”

I still am starting at her blankly. “I-I…um. I guess I’ll have to think about it-”

“Great!” Kimberly gives me a hug. “Let me know what you decide. I am pretty good at marketing, so I’ll have the whole school into this in a snap. It is going to be my major after all.” She then checks her watch. “Yikes! I’m late for class! I’ll catch you later Abby!” Kimberly then hurries off to the art building.

Screenshot-4570

With all this rolling around in my head, I decide to go back to the art room and do some more painting. “My own sorority,” I think to myself. Could I really do that? Could I really start a brand new sorority at Aberdale U? And if I did, would anyone join? After all, everyone thought that I was a cheat and a snitch. Would anyone want to be in a sorority with someone like that? Maybe this wasn’t a good idea.

But as I continue to paint, I start to imagine what it would be like to start a new sorority. To have new rules, a new sorority house, no drama and stress-free. No cruel pranks on people, no cattiness, and no fighting. Just a real sisterhood of girls banding together and leaning on each other to get through college.  And I could be in charge. The thought was very intriguing. Very.

I don’t know how long I stayed there painting, but soon I glance out the window and notice it has gotten dark. Realizing I should probably head out, I cover my painting, place it in the corner, and then leave the room.

Screenshot-4928

As I am heading to my car, I get a text from Janice asking to meet at the café shop downtown. It has been a while since I have been there. I text her back “Be there in ten,” and then head over.

In ten minutes, I walk through the door entrance to the smell of boiling coffee welcoming my nostrils along with the delicious scent of baked pastries.

Screenshot-4930

I spot Janice in line getting something, so I take a seat at one of the tables. Janice then joins me, setting down a plate with a bran muffin in it.

I wrinkle my nose. “Bran?” I ask, and Janice shrugs.

“It was all they had left. Besides, I just worked out and I don’t need the extra calories.” She then stretches. “So, what’s up with you?”

I bite my lip. I had been keeping this whole sorority thing a secret from both Janice and Lizzie, but I realize now that if I was going to even consider starting my own sorority, I couldn’t leave them in the dark.

“There is something I have to tell you. Actually, both you and Lizzie.”

Janice frowns. “What? Is everything okay?”

“Yes, I’m fine, but I have been keeping something from you and Lizzie. It’s a long story, which I will get to, but first I have to say just this. I’m thinking-well, considering, starting my own sorority.”

 

(I’m sorry that it has been a while since I last posted. I will try my best to keep posting a chapter on Tuesdays and Fridays. Also, a brand new story will be coming soon in the new year! More information about it soon! Otherwise, please read, like, or follow and share with your friends! Thank you!)

 

-Evanglina

 

Leave a Reply

