Year 2: Chapter 16: The Gala: Part 1: (Abby’s POV)

(Hey my readers! I just wanted to apologize for the inconsistency with my posts. I know I said I would post on Tuesdays and Fridays, but I have yet to be able to maintain it. There has been a lot of personal issues going on that has prevented me from doing so, but I will do my best to get back on track. But until then, please enjoy the next chapter! Thank you again for following and reading! Please comment, follow, and share if you like the story! 🙂 )

Screenshot-5521

The next two weeks seem to fly by and before I know it, it is Friday, the day of the Greek Gala. Not that I really care. I have been so bummed about not getting the Greek funding. I can’t believe the Beta Gamma Kappas are not allowed to attend. I would have thought that I had some good standing with the Greek Council, but I heard from Kimberly that someone had let it slip about my cheating incident last year (I wonder who that could have been…ugh). Although truthfully, I’m surprised that they didn’t already know about it. It did get the Tri-Fruhms suspended last year. But still, I don’t understand why that is such an issue. I mean, if the Dean could still approve my sorority, why couldn’t they?

It takes everything to pull myself out of bed that Friday morning, but I manage. After all, I have class in a couple hours and I don’t want to be late.

Screenshot-5525

As I make my way to the door, I am surprised to see that Lizzie is already up and typing away at her laptop. That is exactly where I left her last night. Did she even sleep?

“Hey Liz,” I say walking over. “You did sleep last night right?”

Lizzie barely lifts her head from her computer. “Yes I did,” she says, with a little yawn. “I just got up around five. I am almost done with the rulebook and I really want to finish it before I go to class.”

Screenshot-5527

I frown and walk over to look at her computer. “Wait, you’ve been working on the rulebook all this time?”

Lizzie nods. “Yup. I only have a few pages left and I am done!”

I look at her screen quietly for a few minutes and then shrug. “That’s cool.”

Lizzie looks at me surprised. “That’s all your going to say? I’ve typed up over a hundred pages of writing and all you can say is, “that’s cool?”’

I shrug again. “I don’t know, I just think it’s a waste of time. I mean, let’s be honest. The way things are going, we probably are never going to get any recruits let alone become a full fledged sorority.”

Lizzie frowns. “Geez Abby. What happened to all that enthusiasm you had a few weeks ago?”

Screenshot-5528

I sigh and head toward the bedroom door. “I guess I am just facing reality. Anyways, I’m going to go get something from the kitchen. I have class in a while.” I then hurry into to the bathroom and Lizzie returns to typing away at her keyboard. But I mean it. I really don’t see the point in all this anymore. Even Kimberly texted me yesterday to say the promoting isn’t going well. The Alpha Beta Phis have been doing all they can to discourage people from getting interested. The two people Kimberly said were on board, have now conveniently lost interest in joining. Not to mention that another sorority is scouting for a new building and has taken an interest in the house I found. Yes, things were looking worse and worse for the Beta Gamma Kappas.

Screenshot-5226

By the time I get back up to my room, Lizzie is nowhere to be seen. I sigh. Maybe my negativity got to her. She probably got dressed and headed off to the library to finish up.

I check my watch. I still have over an hour before my class starts. I pull out my sketchpad from art class and start tracing over a design I started in class. I don’t know what it is going to be yet, but so far it is looking good.

Screenshot-5236

I am so into my sketch, that I don’t even notice Janice enter my room.

“I knocked, but you didn’t answer,” she says, and then takes a seat on the couch. “How are you doing?” Her face has a worried expression.

Screenshot-5237

“I’m fine, I guess,” I say and close my sketchpad.

“That’s debatable,” Janice says and smiles.

I shrug. “I’m just doing the best I can under the circumstances.”

Janice nods. “I know. I’m sorry about the whole Greek funding thing.”

“Me too. It seems like the Beta Gamma Kappas are over before they began.”

Screenshot-5239

Janice frowns. “I wouldn’t say that.”

I give her a look. “You wouldn’t? Janice, we’re pathetic. We are pretty much a lost cause.” I plop down tiredly on the couch next to her.

“Abby, I think you are overreacting.”

Screenshot-5265

I raise my eyebrows. “Seriously Janice? We only have four members and because of someone spreading that thing about me cheating last year, the Greek council won’t let us promote at any Greek events. Not to mention, we have no funding or anyone that would be willing to give us any. We are screwed.”

Janice sighs. “Okay, so things look bad. I’m sure every sorority has been at a place like this. What we need to do, is not let it stop us from continuing to accomplish our goal.”

Screenshot-5273

“And what goal is that?” I ask.

Janice smiles. “Your goal to start a real sorority! One that focuses more on the sisterhood and helping our university, instead of focusing on being the most popular sorority and throwing the most parties. That is what you want isn’t it?”

I nod. “Yah, I guess.”

“Well then don’t give up. Keep trying. Yes, the Greek council doesn’t think much of us right now, but we’ll change their minds. We just need to show them what we are all about.”

Screenshot-5266

“And I’m going to do that by?”

“By going to the Greek Gala tonight and promoting us.”

I give her a look. “Janice, we aren’t allowed to be recruiting there.”

Janice grins. “Who says we’re recruiting? We are just guests attending a dance. And if we happened to mention our sorority in conversation, who can say anything against that?”

I laugh. “I suppose you are right.”

“That I am.” Janice stands to her feet. “So don’t give up on the Beta Gamma Kappas just yet. Things will turn around. I’m sure of it.”

Screenshot-5286

“Well I should head off. I have class in a bit, and I think you do to.”

I glance over at my clock and see I have forty minutes until class starts. “Yikes, you’re right!”

“So we still on for the Gala tonight?”

I smile. “I guess so.”

“Good. See you tonight!” Janice then turns and walks out through my room door.

Screenshot-5530

After she leaves, I quickly run into the bathroom and take a shower. I then head off to class just barely getting there on time. All the while, I keep thinking about what Janice said. Maybe she was right. Maybe there was still a chance for our sorority.

Screenshot-4926

Of course I am not paying attention after class and nearly run over someone I could have definitely gone without seeing.

“Abby,” Clare says giving me a bored expression. “So I hear your attempting to start your own sorority. That’s a joke right? You don’t actually think you are going to get people to join you do you?”

I square my shoulders back. “Yes, I am starting a sorority. And for your information, I already have four members.”

I know that three of them include my own friends, but what does Clare know right?

Clare scoffs. “Don’t you mean you and your little friends? That’s hardly enough to start a sorority.” She then laughs. “You are so pathetic Abby. You don’t have what it takes to lead a sorority. Just give it up.”

Screenshot-4927

I side step around her holding my head high. “I’ll see you at the gala later. Bye.”

Clare frowns. “What? What do you mean you’ll see me at the gala? You aren’t invited. It’s Greek sororities and frats only.”

I smirk at her. “Well, for your information, we were invited.”  I then ignore her shocked expression and hurry down the sidewalk. At least that will keep her off my tail for a while.

Screenshot-5003

The rest of the day seems to drag by. Mainly because by now I am more anxious than ever about the Gala. During my math class, I get a text from Charls saying that the Alpha Annyas are going to donate some of their funds to the Beta Gamma Kappas sorority. Well, more of him on behalf of them. As sweet as it is, I just know that isn’t going to sit well with his fraternity brothers. I can’t help but feel that I won’t be winning any points with them tonight.

By the time I get out of my math class, I am surprised to see snow covering the ground. I can’t deny, I welcome the weather. It lets me know that winter break is coming. I can definitely use a break from all this stress.

Screenshot-5012

My art class ends up being a lot of fun today. My professor gives the idea for us to go painting outside. He says that he wants us to get inside our element and paint whatever comes to mind. I close my eyes and being to paint, which surprisingly, ends up being a picture of Lizzie! I don’t know what it is, but I have always felt that snow was like her element. The coolness of the flakes, and the gentleness they have as they float from the skies to the ground. It is just so Lizzie.

I am disappointed when class ends. For the past hour, my mind had seemed to clear and I felt completely relaxed. It is amazing how painting always seems to do that for me.

Screenshot-5007

 

With the Gala starting in only a few hours, I hurry back to my dorm. With all my nervousness for tonight, the one thing I can control is how awesome I’m going to look. At least I hope.

Screenshot-5223

Three hours later, I am all dressed up and ready for the Gala. I feel my nerves really starting to kick in. This was my chance to prove that I was worthy of being a sorority leader. No pressure.

Screenshot-5111

I decide to calm my nerves by working on a painting I started a few weeks ago. I am actually almost done and am surprised by how well it’s turning out. The new techniques I have been learning from my art professor is really paying off.

Screenshot-5116

Thirty minutes later, Lizzie comes in and starts getting ready.

“I finished up the rulebook!” She says, flashing me a smile while putting on some lipstick.

I smile back. “You did?”

“Yup! It’s all good to go, but Kimberly is right. We desperately need more members if we are going to be able to start events and go to the Greek council, as well as get the funding for that house you found at the edge of campus.”

I nod. “Tell me about it. With us not being able to attend Greek events it’s not going to make it easy.”

Screenshot-5117

I give one last final stroke of my brush and then stand back to look at my work. The painting looks more like it’s from the 1700’s, but I like it. It definitely has a medieval feel to it.

Screenshot-5120

“Wow, that painting looks great!” Lizzie chimes over my shoulder. “You are an amazing painter.”

I wave my hand. “Aw, you’re just saying that.”

“No, I’m serious! You’ve always been very talented Abby.”

“Same with you and your writing. I just know you are going to be published one day.”

Screenshot-5130

“Aw, that’s sweet! I wish I had your confidence in me. It would be a dream to be published.”

I grin. “Trust me, you will be.”

“Well thanks. You excited about tonight?”

I sigh. “More like extremely nervous! All the Greek sororities and frats are going to be there. And don’t forget, we aren’t really supposed to be attending.”

Screenshot-5129

Lizzie scoffs. “Oh forget about that! Just focus on having a good time. And who knows, maybe we might find some recruits without even trying.”

I frown at her curiously. “Since when did you get so into the spirit of sororities?”

Lizzie shrugs. “I don’t know, I guess it’s growing on me.”

Screenshot-5133

I look at her quietly for a moment and then pull her in for a hug. “Thank you for…everything. I wouldn’t have been able to do all this without you.”

Lizzie gives me a squeeze. “I’m happy to help. Always.” We then pull apart. “I should go and see how Janice is doing. The guys will be here soon. See you in a bit!”

Screenshot-5143

After Lizzie leaves, I get a text from Charls,

-Just arrived. Waiting for you downstairs.

-Love, Charls

I take a deep breath. And the night begins.

Screenshot-5147

I then leave my room and slowly descend the staircase, smiling with every step. Charls is standing in the lobby, staring at me with a smile that makes my heart beat faster.

Screenshot-5158

“You look amazing,” he says when I reach him.

I laugh. “You’re not so bad yourself.” I then notice Michael standing just beside us. “You look great as well,” I say to him.

Michael smiles. “You too. Is Lizzie still up there?”

I nod. “She’s with Janice. They will be down in a bit.” I then turn my attention back to Charls. “I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t nervous about tonight. I’m sure your frat brothers aren’t too thrilled with what you are doing for me. Which I must say, is so sweet of you.”

Charls laughs. “Hey, don’t worry about them. They’ll get over it.”

Screenshot-5161

And of course, before I am able to say anything more, Charls plants a kiss on my lips and the world around me seems to fade away. Maybe he was right. Maybe tonight everything will go smooth and as planned.

 

-Evanglina

Leave a Reply

