Chapter 69: School Year Ending (Lizzie’s POV)

Screenshot-1164

I can’t believe how fast time flies. Before I know it, it is already the end of finals week. I have been studying like crazy with Abby and Janice, so I know I’m going to pass all my classes. I still haven’t heard back from Michael, which makes me start to worry that maybe I was too late. Had Michael already moved on? With it now being my last day of spring quarter at Aberdale U, I had been hoping to hear from him, but I hadn’t.

After waking up in the morning, I make my bed and then throw on some workout clothes before heading downstairs.

Screenshot-1316

When I reach the family room-like lounge, I see Janice has already started her workout.

“Hey!” I say joining in.

“Hey yourself! How are things?”

“Okay I guess.”

“Still haven’t heard from Michael?”

I am quiet which gives Janice her answer.

“I’m sorry.”

I shrug. “It’s okay. I still don’t really know what I am going to do about him and Kendal anyway.”

Screenshot-1321

Janice snickers. “I think you protest too much.”

I frown. “What do you mean?”

“I mean, I think you already know who you want. You are just in denial. And if you keep this up, you are going to lose him.”

Screenshot-1319

I roll my eyes. “Whatever you say Janice.” Although, honestly, there may be some truth to what she is saying.

Screenshot-985

After we finish our workout, I head upstairs to take a shower. The water is warm and washes away some my worries temporarily. It’s funny to think that this is the last shower I will be taking in this dorm. Who knows if I will have the same building next year.

Screenshot-1169

After getting dressed, I give my face a touch up in front of the mirror. There is an end of quarter party being held in the evening and I want to look nice. Final grades are also coming in and I am excited to see how I did.

Screenshot-1298

Entering into the kitchen, I make myself a mug of hot chocolate with a side of toast. I did sleep in a little so I missed the big end of quarter breakfast.

Screenshot-1306

The dining room is empty, so I have a little peace and quiet. I finish my piece of toast and then sit in silence drinking my cocoa. My mind travels to the day of my communications final. Michael had sat many chairs ahead of me so I don’t even think he saw me at all. Still, I feel a bit hurt that he has been ignoring me. I know that I hurt him, but it felt a bit like torture.

Screenshot-1308

I also think about Kendal and the look on his face when he said goodbye. “I just want you to be happy,” he had said. Even if that meant I wasn’t with him? I couldn’t understand that. I sigh and finish the last bit of cocoa in my cup. Why did relationships have to be so stressful?

After finishing my cocoa, I take my mug into the kitchen and put it in the sink. I then walk back into the dining room.

Screenshot-1284

Janice is standing inside.

“Can you believe that we are leaving today?” she says with a smile.

I shake my head. “It’s crazy. I feel like we just started college yesterday.”

Screenshot-1291

“So, I was just wondering if you wanted to head to the bowling alley. We haven’t really been there all quarter and I thought it might be a fun thing to do before we leave. I wanted to invite Abby, but her roommate Noel said that she’s still asleep.

I nod. ”Sure thing! We can take my car.” I had been dying to check out the bowling alley as well.

Screenshot-1433

It’s a calm and peaceful drive over to the bowling alley and I let the sunroof down to let in the lukewarm air. Janice turns on the radio and we blast “Treasure,” by Bruno Mars and sing along. People walking nearby, give us looks and we both laugh.

Screenshot-1437

When we get inside to the bowling lane we go up to the nearest vacant lane to begin. I am up first.

Screenshot-1438

I then hold my stance and prepare to roll. Janice stands behind me and cheers me on.

“Come on Liz!” she calls.

Screenshot-1441

I roll the ball and knock down all the pins but one, which I knock over on my second roll giving me a spare. Janice claps me on the back and I stand back so she can get a turn.

Screenshot-1444

We end up bowling for a few hours until one of us wins. I have dumb luck and end up beating Janice at the game.

Screenshot-1448

“I’m going to miss us hanging out,” I say with a sad smile.

“Hey, we’ll see each other next year.”

“So, you going back to Marina beach?”

“Yup.” Janice nods. “We should head back to the dorm though or else we are going to miss the party.”

“Agreed.”

Screenshot-1432

As we drive back to the dorm, I look to Janice. “You know, the story you read for the writing club was really good.”

Janice smiles. “Thanks.”

“You know you never talk about your sisters. How come?”

Janice is quiet for a while before responding. “I don’t know. I guess not all of my memories are good. I just don’t always like to talk about it.”

“I understand. But you know, I am a good listener. So if you ever need someone to talk to-”

“I know I’ve got you,” Janice finishes. We both smile at each other and continue along.

-Evanglina

Leave a Reply

