Chapter 4: Arrival At Aberdale U

Abby’s Point of View

 

Screenshot-641

 

Lizzie pulls us into an empty parking spot at the Aberdale University Aderson Dorm building, three hours later. We would have been here earlier, but we got a little carried away, taking the back roads. Okay, so it was my idea. What? Sue me for wanting to make a road trip out of this!

 

Screenshot-644

 

After parking, we walk around to the front of the building. It’s pretty bare, despite the fact that we took the back roads. We are still among the first people to arrive. Tisk, tisk. Lizzie and her need to always be so early.

 

Screenshot-645

 

Lizzie stretches and turns to me. “We should go and get checked in. Best we get unpacked before people start arriving.” I nod and follow her inside. I guess that’s something good about this. At least we will have most of our packing done and get to spend some time hanging out before everyone else arrives in our dorm.

Or so I thought. Seems like there was going to be a little snag in that plan…thanks to me. When we get to the front desk to get our room keys, the lady gives us our keys, but to two different rooms. When Lizzie frowns and asks why, the lady tells us that Lizzie and I are not roommates. Lizzie freaks a little and tells the lady that we had sent in a request form requesting us to be roommates, which I do remember us doing. Unfortunately, the woman then says that she sent another form to the both of us which we were supposed to fill out and return before a certain date, to confirm everything. That I also remember doing. Apparently, what I didn’t do, was send it in on time. I didn’t think it would be a big deal, so I sent it in two weeks ago. According to the woman, I was supposed to have sent it in over a month ago. Ooops.

I can tell Lizzie was furious, but she holds in her anger and takes her room key and pamphlet information from the lady and then walks back into the hallway.

I take all my things and hurry after her.

“Lizzie,” I start, but she cuts me off.

 

Screenshot-658

 

“Abby! How could you be so irresponsible!”

“Lizzie, calm down!” I look around noticing that people are starting to come in. “It was just an accident! I forgot!”

“You forgot? Abby this was really important! I called and told you how vital this was! How could you just forget?”

 

Screenshot-659

 

“I’m sorry, Lizzie!” I honestly do feel bad. I didn’t think that it was going to be such a big deal. If I had known, I would have sent it in on time. Still I didn’t feel like it was the end of the world.

 

Screenshot-651

 

“Look, I know I made a mistake, but its going to be okay. This might be a good thing for us.”

Lizzie frowns. “What do you mean? How is us not being roommates supposed to be a good thing?”

“Well, this will give us a chance to meet other people and mingle. That’s one of the best things about being in school, meeting new people. I think this will be good for us.”

 

Screenshot-654

 

“Are you serious?” Lizzie looks shocked. “What is that supposed to mean? Are you tired of hanging around me or something?”

I sigh. “No, of course not. Lizzie, you are my best friend. I just think it would be cool for us to meet other people. We’re in a new school and I think it would enhance our college experience.”

Lizzie gives me a funny look, but I smile. “Come on Liz, it will be fine. Trust me.”

Lizzie stares at me for a minute and sighs. “Whatever you say Abby,” she says. “I’m going to go get my things from my car.” She then turns and heads back out the front door.

I still feel awful, but I try and tell myself that she will get over it. I know this whole arrangement will work out no matter how bad it looks right now. Taking a deep breath, I head out to the car as well, to unload my things. Lizzie barely says a word to me as we take our bags from the trunk and I am starting to think that maybe things were not going to go as smoothly as I hoped.

 

Screenshot-664

 

After we get back into the dorm, Lizzie waves goodbye to me and heads upstairs to her dorm room. I smile feeling a little relieved at her kindness, and head up the opposite staircase to my room.

 

Screenshot-665

 

When I reach the top of the staircase, I scan the hall for my dorm room. Seeing it off to my left, I hurry over, pausing just outside the door.

 

Screenshot-666

 

“Okay, this is it,” I tell myself.  Taking a deep breath, I push the doors open and step inside.

 

Screenshot-667

 

As I enter, I pause, looking up ahead. My roommate is standing in front of the mirror above her dresser, touching up her face. I smile at her, but she seems so involved in her reflection that she doesn’t even notice me.

 

Screenshot-668

 

I bite my lip feeling knots forming in my stomach. Maybe I was wrong. Maybe having a roommate other than Lizzie was a bad idea. I feel like rushing back downstairs to the dorm adviser lady and begging her to give me a room change. Maybe I will, but first, I might as well give it a shot. I clear my throat and try again to get my roommate’s attention.

“Hey!” I say to her, a little too loudly.

 

Screenshot-669

 

She jumps slightly and turns to face me. From up close, I can tell she must be athletic. She has toned arms, the arms I have been lifting weight all summer to get.

To my surprise, she flashes me a smile. “Hey!” she says, “You must be my roommate. Abigail, right?”

 

Screenshot-676

 

I am surprised that she knows my name, but I figure she learned it from our dorm adviser.

I nod. “Yes I am. I go by Abby though.”

“Cool! My name’s Janice. Nice to meet you!” Janice flashes me a friendly smile, and I am relieved that I don’t have to face Lizzie telling me how wrong I was about the “meeting new people” thing.

“Nice to meet you too,” I say, and shake her hand.

“Sorry I didn’t notice you coming in,” Janice continues, “I was in my own little world there. I’ve worn braces all my life and got them off about a few weeks ago. I guess I’m still getting use to not having them anymore.” She laughs and I join her.

 

Screenshot-677

 

“No problem, I use to have them too. Well, retainers.  I was so happy not having to wear them anymore when I got to high school. My friend Lizzie used to hate it when I took them out during lunch. She thought it was so gross.” We both laugh again.

 

Screenshot-680

 

“My older sister hates them too. She avoided dating guys who wore retainers in high school. It didn’t matter how nice they were, she just kept thinking about the food that could have gotten stuck in them.”

“Ew!” I wrinkle my nose and we both laugh. “I think we should change the subject.”

Janice nods, while still laughing. “I agree.”

 

Screenshot-683

 

 

We chat for a few more minutes before I stretch and turn to the rest of our room. “Well, time to get unpacked,” I say and then head over to my bags.

 

Screenshot-687

 

It takes about an hour or two, but soon my things are all unpacked. I pause smiling at my new room. It may not be like my bedroom back home, but now it does feel like home to me.

 

Screenshot-681

 

“Looks good!” says Janice from behind me.

I grin. “It sure does.”

“So do you want to go downstairs? We’ll be needing to head over to the Student Union building for orientation in just a bit.”

“Sounds good,” I say, and I walk over to the door. As we head downstairs, I just can’t believe my luck. I’ve got an awesome new room and awesome new roommate. Things were definitely looking good.

 

 

-Evanglina

Leave a Reply

