Chapter 12: Party At The Alpha’s (Abby’s POV)

Screenshot-912

I feel my nerves kicking in after I receive the address to the Alpha-Annyas party. “Stop freaking out,” I tell myself. “It’s just a party.” Except, it is not just a party. It is a Alpha-Annya party! What happens there could affect my chances of being a Tri-Fruhm. I sigh. Maybe I am just putting too much on this. After all, what Charlotte seems to be more occupied with, is my prank on Lizzie; whatever that was.

I hurry over to the Alpha-Annya house on foot and arrive to the party, which is in full swing. Charlotte and all the other Tri-Fruhms are there, hanging out by the hot tub. Although I feel a bit anxious, I slip into my bikini and join them in the backyard. How they decided to have a party like this when it is totally freezing outside, is beyond me. We hang in the backyard for a while before Taylor pulls me aside. She is the only one not dressed up in a suit.

“There is a little something I want you to do for me,” she whispers, and she pulls me in through the door of the shelter out back.

Screenshot-920

I am about to ask what is going on when I see someone I remember.

“Brad!” I say in surprise.

“Hey. Abby was it?” he asks and smiles.

I blush and nod. May I say that he looks amazing without a shirt.

Taylor looks back and forth between the two of us. “Have you two met?”

“Sure have,” Brad grins. “This girl here totally hustled me at pool earlier this week.”

“Hey, I told you it was just luck,” I say and twist a strand of my hair with a finger.

Suddenly the door to the shed opens. Clare is standing there looking in at us.

“Hey Taylor, Charlotte wants to talk to you about something.” She frowns when she notices me and Brad. “What’s going on in here?” she asks. Her voice sounds a bit tense.

“Oh nothing,” says Taylor smirking. “I was just introducing Abby to someone, but I guess I should go.” She then winks at me. “You two have fun,” she whispers and then heads over to the door. “Come along Clare. I’m sure whatever Charlotte has to say, concerns you too.”

Clare opens her mouth to protest, but Taylor grabs her arm and pulls her after her, shutting the door behind them.

Screenshot-918

“Alone at last,” says Brad, and he grins, moving closer to me.

My heart nearly leaps out of my chest. Was Brad hitting on me?

I try to play it cool and smile at him flirtatiously. “You know, you never told me you were an Alpha.”

“It’s not normally the first thing I tell a girl.”

“I doubt that.”

“Ah, okay, you got me. Maybe I do. Sometimes. You never told me you were a Tri-Fruhm.”

I am about to tell him I’m not, but then decide against it. After all, I might be one soon enough anyway. “To shay,” I say.

“So I’m curious about something,” Brad asks, and he moves closer.

“Do tell.” I am trying so hard to stay calm but my heart is racing.

“Is it true that Tri-Annyas are good kissers?”

I almost laugh out loud. That has to be one of the cheesiest lines I had ever heard. But Brad is cute, so it works on me. (Also, I can tell he might have had a bit to drink)

Screenshot-917

“Only one way to find out.” Within seconds he pulls me toward him and kisses me. His mouth is soft and hot on mine and I feel my heart pounding against my chest. I could honestly stay like this forever, pressed against his firm chest, our mouths entwined with one another. But all too soon it comes to an end. He pulls away from me and gives me a little smile.

Screenshot-916

I am complete dazed, but I try to keep my stance. “So, what’s the verdict?” I ask, looking up at him.

He grins. “Hot.”

I giggle and he pulls me back to him again. But before we are able to kiss, the door to the shed opens again. Turning I spot Clare staring in at us.

“Hey Abby, we should get going. Someone called the cops for some reason and they will be here any minute.”

“What?” Brad pulls away from me and frowns. “Are you serious?”

“Yes! Everybody is leaving right now.”

Brad curses and then grabs a jacket from nearby. “I better go sort this out. I’ll see you Abby.” He then heads out passing Clare.

I follow after Clare a little puzzled, for she is giving me a really weird look. I can’t tell if it’s a look of anger or sadness.

“Is everything okay?” I ask.

“Yah, of course. Why?”

“I don’t know, you look kind of tense.”

Clare shrugs. “It’s nothing. I’m just annoyed about the party. That’s all.”

I want to believe that, but from the look on her face, I know there is more to it.

Screenshot-921

I grab my clothes from one of the bedrooms and quickly slip them on. Then after saying goodbye to the Tri-Fruhms, I head for my dorm. I am still puzzled over Clare’s weird behavior and even more since I did not see or hear any police sirens on my way back to my dorm.

Screenshot-922

I soon forget all about it when I get home and see a text from Brad on my phone.

“Sorry all the choas cut our talk short. Rain check? ;)”

I grin and text him back, “Definitely.”

Screenshot-924

After heading into my room, I slip out of my clothes and into my P.Js. I then walk over to Janice, who has just gotten off the phone from talking to one of her sisters.

“Hey,” I say, shyly. Things have been pretty weird between us, so I don’t know what to expect from her.

“Abby,” she says, and straightens up her outfit. “So how was the party?”

Screenshot-926

“It was good, well, until someone called the cops.”

Janice frowns. “Someone called the cops?”

“Yah. At least that’s what Clare said. Funny, I didn’t see them show up though.”

Janice shrugs. “Well, I’m glad you had a good time.”

“Look Janice,” I sigh and move closer to her, “I don’t like the way we left things yesterday.”

Janice turns to me. “Neither do I.”

“Is there a way that we could start over?”

Janice looks at me for a moment and then nods. “I guess.”

Screenshot-930

“Okay, because I have something I really need to tell someone!”

Janice smiles at me curiously. “What?”

“Brad kissed me tonight.”

“You kissed Brad Roberts?”

“Well, we more of made out.”

“Whoa! I told you not to count yourself out just yet, didn’t I?”

I laugh. “You told me.”

Screenshot-931

“So how was it?”

I close my eyes. “Amazing. His lips were so soft and so hot.”

Janice laughs again. “You really have it bad for him.”

“Don’t I know it.” We both laugh and then become quiet.

Screenshot-927

“You know you have to do something about this whole Lizzie thing.”

I sigh. “Janice, let’s not bring that up again.”

“But I have to. You know that it’s wrong.”

“All I am doing is inviting her to a party!”

“A party that you are going to embarrass her at! Don’t think I am totally clueless about the way those girls work. I still don’t know why you want to be one of them, out of all the sororities on campus.”

“Janice,” I say, giving her a look and finally she drops it.

“All I am going to say, is that you should really think about it. Are you willing to do this to your best friend just to be a Tri-Fruhm?”

I open my mouth to answer, but then close it. Janice had a point. Once I went through with the prank, I couldn’t take it back. Was I ready to do that?

“We should get to bed,” says Janice and she stretches. “It’s already two in the morning.”

Screenshot-932

“It’s not that late,” I protest, but Janice shakes her head.

“Hey, the average person needs seven hours of sleep each night and I don’t want to wake up at noon tomorrow.”

I chuckle and walk over to my bed. “Someone has been reading their textbook too much,” I say and slip under my covers. I have a lot to think about and I think what better way to figure it out than by sleeping on it.

-Evanglina

Leave a Reply

