Chapter 47: Movie Day (Lizzie’s POV)

Screenshot-674

Things get better and better for me over the next few weeks. Kendal and I are back on track and I feel over the moon. My only concern is my friendship with Michael. He has been so distant since Kendal and I got back together. I know he is a bit against the two of us, but I thought that he would get over it eventually. Now it has been over two weeks and he is still weird around us.

I have done my best to keep Michael and Kendal from running into each other, by hanging out with them separately. Still, sometimes I feel like it is on the tip of his tongue every time we hang out together, especially when we go to our weekly movie festival showings with Janice (It took some convincing, but I finally got both Janice and Michael to agree to it).

Screenshot-913

I honestly don’t know why it is bothering me so much. It’s not like it’s the end of the world, but for some reason its driving me crazy. I considered just having Michael and Kendal spend more time together in the same room, but I can tell from Michael’s behavior that it wouldn’t be a good idea.

I mull this over as I sit in class doing research for my big English 102 paper, but I can’t seem to concentrate. I just want everything to be how it was last year, Michael and I friends, Kendal and I together, and most of all, Abby and I still friends. I pause for a moment a bit surprised. I don’t know why Abby just crossed my mind. I am still angry with her. Although things still worked out for Kendal and I am, I am still a bit peeved that Abby would even suggest that what she and the Tri-Fruhms did was my fault. I get that she was drunk, but those thoughts didn’t come from nowhere. Somewhere deep down, she must honestly believe what she said, and that I can’t forgive.

Screenshot-675

Thankfully, it is Friday night, movie night with Janice and Michael. That is until I arrive and get a text from Michael stating that he won’t be able to make it. Oh well, at least Janice and I can have a girl’s night out.

Janice and I head into the theater together and pause at the snack counter to get some refreshments. I grab a licorice wand and Janice gets a pack of chocolate covered Malt balls.

Screenshot-688

We then walk into the movie screening room and take our seats toward the front row like usual. Today we decided on a romantic comedy called “Love & Chopsticks,” a movie about a girl living in New York that goes to live in China for a student exchange program and falls in love with the son of her host parents. I had been dying to see it with Kendal, but he had been busy with his Chem. classes this week. Still, I am fine seeing it with Janice. We haven’t seen a movie just the two of us in a while.

Screenshot-691

We watch the movie in silence for a while, laughing at the comedic scenes. This was a great idea.

“So where’s Michael?” Janice asks halfway through the movie.

I lean over. “He texted me and said he wasn’t going to make it.”

“Did he say why?”

“No. He just said he was busy.”

Janice shakes her head. “He’s been acting really weird lately. Have you noticed?”

I swallow. “How do you mean?”

“I mean the way he’s been acting. He’s been a lot more quiet than usual.”

I shrug. “I-I guess.”

Janice smirks. “What happened?”

Screenshot-694

“What are you talking about?” I ask.

“Lizzie please, I know something is going on with the two of you. He only acts weird like that when he is around you.”

“Janice! There is nothing going on! I’m with Kendal remember?”

“Yah, but does Michael know that?”

“Yes he does, but wait. What do you mean by that?”

Screenshot-693

Janice smirks. “I think you know what I mean,” she says.

“No I don’t,” I want to say back, but I know I’d be lying.

“Look, I am glad that you and Kendal are back together, but it was kind of sudden. Are you sure you really gave it a lot of thought?”

I sigh. “I did Janice, I really did. Kendal apologized for everything and we talked it over. He wanted a second chance with me and I wanted that too. And you know what? I’m glad I did. Things are going really well.”

Janice smiles. “Speaking of which, you two have plans for Valentine’s day?”

Goodness. Time was going by so fast. I couldn’t believe it was almost the third week of February.

“I guess I’ll have to see. Hopefully.”

Screenshot-700

We finish the movie twenty minutes later and get up to leave. As I walk toward the exit, I almost run smack into Michael.

I am a bit surprised, but nonetheless, I am happy to see him. “Hey Mike, we have got to stop meeting like this.” I laugh and he smiles slightly.

“This does seem to be the thing with us,” he says. I don’t know what it is, but my heart has started to beat faster.

Screenshot-707

“Michael,” I start, but he raises his hand.

“Lizzie, wait. Look, I just wanted to apologize.”

I frown. “What for?”

“For being a bit flakey with you lately. I know things have been a bit weird between us since, that day back in class.”

I bite my lip. “Yah.”

Screenshot-711

Michael sighs. “I’m sorry, I guess that Kendal guy just rubs me the wrong way.”

“I know, and I know you’re still mad about all that stuff from last year, but I forgave him, Michael.”

“I know, I guess I just don’t think he deserves you, Liz.”

“And you do?”

Michael looks up at me in surprise and I desperately wish I could take it back. I can’t believe that came out of my mouth.

Screenshot-712

“I-I’m sorry,” I stammer. “I don’t know why I said that.”

“Liz,” Michael says, but I shake my head.

“I’m sorry, I don’t know where that came from. Forget I said anything.” I can feel my cheeks heating up and my heart speeding up in my chest. “I-I should get home, it’s getting late.”

I then hurry out of the theater before he can stop me.

Screenshot-335

As I get ready for bed, my mind keeps traveling back to my exchange with Michael. How could I have said that to him? I basically implied that he wanted me to be with him instead of Kendal. I felt extremely embarrassed. He must think I am crazy. But then again, he didn’t seems completely disturbed. In fact, he looked more caught off guard. Could it be that maybe he…No. I can’t think about that right now. I have a boyfriend, one that I am working to make things better with. I can’t afford to do anything to make him regret it.

Sighing, I lie back on my pillows and close my eyes. Sleep was what I needed. Things would make more sense tomorrow.

-Evanglina

Leave a Reply

