Chapter 15: An Unforgettable Night (Lizzie & Abby’s POV)

Lizzie’s POV

Screenshot-1269

I sit back against my bed pillow and smile. The past three weeks have been a better improvement from when I first came to Aberdale U. Abby and I have started hanging out again, which I have to say has been the highlight of them. She still hangs out with her new sorority girl friends, but I have tried to get over it. The only thing that is weirding me out, is the fact that they keep smiling at me and waving every time they see me. It’s a little weird considering I don’t really know them. Still, I want to be polite and respectful to the fact that they are Abby’s new friends, so I always smile and wave back. Abby always acts weird when they do that though. I don’t know what that is all about.

Kendal and I have become an official couple now. I lied, that is probably the highlight of the past three weeks. It’s so weird having a boyfriend, but I love every minute of it. We hang out all the time at the writing club meetings, the library, and at the theater on weekends. I even invited him to the party Abby invited me too, but he said it wasn’t really his scene. In fact, he was a little surprised that I would want to go to a sorority party in the first place. I told him it was just for Abby, but he still wasn’t interested.

Michael, however, said he might stop by. He and I have kind of become friends over the past few weeks, well, after all the weirdness the first few times we ran into each other. We actually have a lot in common; one being that we are both kind of “outcasts” like Abby calls it.

Screenshot-1267

I hear a loud snore and look up. My roommate Clarissa is turning over in her sleep.

That was the biggest surprise of the past couple weeks. My roommate finally showed up. She was supposed to have come the same day I arrived, but she had had problems with our room. The problem, was me. Apparently, she had wanted our room all to herself and was furious when that wasn’t the case. She tried to take it up with the college officials, but like I expected, they turned her away, even with her father threatening them. That last part is probably just a rumor, but that’s what I heard. She does come from money, however, if her specially designed side of our room is any indication. I really wouldn’t mind her if her personality wasn’t so horrid. I had been so excited to get a roommate hoping she was as nice as Abby’s roommate Janice, but I guess I was not so lucky. Clarissa Ackles is the opposite of nice. After having some men unload all of her belongings onto her side of our room, she quickly laid down the rules with me.

“I don’t know you and I don’t need to know you. This room was supposed to be mine and mine alone, but due to some mishap and the school board being uncooperative, I have to share it with you. So I don’t want to hear you and the less I see of you the better. Got it?”

She was being completely ridiculous, but I was too busy with schoolwork to worry about her. I just said, “Sure, whatever,” and headed out the door. I guess there will be no bonding for us.

Screenshot-1268

Since then, things have been tense between us. I’ve gotten used to it though. At the end of the quarter, I will be requesting a new roommate, so I need not worry about her.

Right now, I am just resting up for the party. Its tonight and I am actually pretty excited. With all of Abby’s planning and talking about it, she has really gotten me into it. I only wish that Kendal would come along. It would be so nice to share the experience with him. Oh well. Maybe I can convince him to go to one some other time.

My cell phone beeps and I turn it over to check. It’s 5:30pm, an hour and a half before the party. I decide I had better get ready. I will be meeting Abby out in front of Arderson and I don’t want to be late. As quietly as I can, I get dressed and do my hair and makeup. The last thing I want is for Clarissa to wake up and accuse me of ruining her midday nap.

Screenshot-958

After I am all dressed, I leave my dorm room, closing the door quietly behind me. I then head downstairs. Abby is hanging out with Janice in the hallway.

“I’ll pull my car around and honk for you, okay?” I say to Abby, and she nods nervously. It’s weird. Abby has been acting really strange all afternoon. I make a note to ask her about it on the drive to the club and then head through the front door to the parking lot.

Abby’s POV

Screenshot-948

I check my face in the mirror one last time to make sure I look okay. This is my first official Tri-Fruhm party and I want to look perfect. Maybe that will distract me from thinking about what could happen later that evening. I still hadn’t decided what I was going to do about the prank on Lizzie and it was driving me crazy.

Screenshot-949

Through the mirror’s reflection, I see Janice putting some clothes in the dryer. I sigh. I had invited her to the party as well, put her answer was a definite “No.”

“I’m not going to go just to ease your conscious about hurting Lizzie.” I tried to convince her that it was harmless, but she wouldn’t budge. I eventually just gave up.

Screenshot-950

“You know, it’s not too late,” I say walking over to her.

Janice stuffs some more clothes into the dryer and then looks up at me. “What?”

“To go to the party.”

Janice sighs. “Abby, you know what I said.”

“I know, but I was hoping you had changed your mind.”

Screenshot-953

“Abby, I told you. I’m not going to go just to watch you do that to her.”

“You don’t even know what it is!”

“No, but I’m pretty sure it’s similar to what they did to that Bethany Jonson girl last year.”

I almost gasp when she says that. How did she know about that? I didn’t even know all of it!

Screenshot-955

“Well, what if I told you that I wasn’t going to do anything?”

Janice raises her eyebrows. “What?”

“I’ve been thinking a lot about it, and I don’t think I am going to go through with it.”

Janice smirks. “Now how do I know you aren’t just saying that?”

“Because I’m not! I really have been thinking it over. Lizzie and I have really gotten back on track and I don’t want to ruin that. I know I have to tell Charlotte that, and well, I would love it if you could be there. For support.”

Screenshot-952

Janice looks at me curiously for a minute and then nods. “Okay, well, I guess I could stop by.”

“Yes!”

Janice laughs and shrugs. “Besides, I did hear that Greg Shalom is going to be there…”

My eyes widen. “You didn’t tell me you met a guy!”

“Well we haven’t talked in a while.” She looks back at the dryer. “I got to finish this load, but I’ll be there later.”

“Promise?”

“I promise.”

Screenshot-957

As if on cue, I hear a loud honk from outside.

“That would be Lizzie. I should go.”

I then leave Janice and hurry out the front door to Lizzie’s car.

Screenshot-959

It’s a ten-minute drive over to R.E.D and when we arrive, people are already going inside.

“You know, you’ve been really weird this whole week. Is everything okay?”

I look over at Lizzie and see she is staring at me worriedly.

“I’m fine,” I say, forcing a smile. “I guess I’m just a little nervous about the party.”

“Don’t worry! I’m sure everything is going to go great.”

“I sure hope so.” I am more worried about the prank. What was Charlotte going to do if I backed out?

Screenshot-960

Looking up, I see Charlotte standing by the entrance with Clare and Kimberly. They are staring right at Lizzie and me.

“W-we should park,” I say to Lizzie and she drives us into one of the parking spaces. We then get out of the car and head across the street to the club.

Screenshot-966

“Hey, you two,” Charlotte says, blocking our path. “Nice to see you.” Lizzie and I both nod at her shyly. “Abby, could I borrow you for a moment?”

Biting my lip, I nod and say goodbye to Lizzie. She looks at us puzzled, but then some guy shows up at her side and she follows him inside.

“So is everything all set up for the prank?” Charlotte asks.

“Yes, but-”

“Excellent!” Charlotte exclaims, cutting me off. “You pull this off, and let’s just say, you will be the newest member of Tri-Fruhm.” She then winks and heads into the club.

I stand outside for a moment feeling helpless. What was I going to do?

Screenshot-1435

It isn’t long before the party is in full swing. Everyone is up on the dance floor and swaying to the beat. If I wasn’t so worried about the prank, I would have been thrilled for being a part of what looked like the party of the year. Even Lizzie seemed to be having a good time dancing with the guy I saw her with earlier. She told me that he wasn’t her boyfriend Kendal and that he and she were just friends, but from the way he looks at her, I’m not so sure he thinks that…

The moment finally comes. Lizzie leaves the dance floor to get a drink from the bar. Clearly she hasn’t learned the rule about drinking at a club (never leave your drink unattended), so after taking a few sips, she leaves it on the counter and goes back to the dance floor.

Screenshot-1436

As soon as she leaves, I see Charlotte motion for me to go to it from across the room. I shakily make my way over to the bar and pull out the little bag Clare gave me, but then pause. Was I really going to do this to Lizzie?

“Not having second thoughts are you?” a voice says behind me. I turn to see Clare smirking at me. “I knew you didn’t have the guts to do it. You are definitely not Tri-Fruhm material.”

Finally, I have had enough. “What is your deal? You’ve been acting so bitchy to me for the past three weeks! Did I do something?”

“Yes, I do. I have a problem with a pledge that thinks she can take whatever she wants without asking.”

When I just stare at her puzzled, she scoffs. “Anyways, it doesn’t matter. The point is, if you want to be one of us, you have to go all out. There are no shortcuts. And if you don’t do it, everyone is going to know just how gutless you are. Do you want to be an outcast your whole life? Step up Abby.”

When I don’t move, Clare takes the little bag from me and dumps the contents into Lizzie’s drink.

“Clare!” I squeal, but she just laughs.

“You’ll thank me later. Now no one has to know what a loser you are.” She then stalks off. I stare after her in shock. I can’t believe her.

Screenshot-1441

I am so distracted that I don’t see Lizzie come up beside me. The sound of her sighing with satisfaction catches my attention.

“Refreshing!” she says with a smile and then sets her empty glass down. “I’m going to get back on the dance floor. See yah!”

“Lizzie, no!” I try to grab her hand, but I miss. Now it’s too late. Lizzie downed the whole glass and now it’s in her system. I look over and see Charlotte and Clare laughing. I bite my lip so hard I think it might start to bleed. There was nothing I could do now, but watch everything unfold.

-Evanglina

Leave a Reply

