Chapter 16: Dazed & Confused (Abby’s POV)

Screenshot-1440

I decide to stay as close to Lizzie as I can for the rest of the night. At first, I think maybe it was all a trick and maybe the little bag that Clare had given me wasn’t anything at all. Maybe it was flour or something and the joke would be on me for being so gullible. But after twenty minutes, Lizzie starts to act strange. Her body beings to sway slightly and she starts not making any sense.  She also seems a lot more loose and giggly than I have ever seen her before. I feel my stomach being to tighten.

“Lizzie, are you all right?” I ask.

Screenshot-1437

“I am A okay,” Lizzie says and giggles.

I smile at her weakly. Charlotte and the Tri-Fruhms are standing nearby and watching. They all seem to be trying hard not to break into laughter.

“Maybe we should step outside. You look like you could use some fresh air.”

“Okey-dokey.” Lizzie taps me on the nose with her finger and I catch her hand. I then lead her down the stairs from the dance floor and outside to the back of the club.

Screenshot-964

As we pass the club’s pool, I freeze. A little a ways from the pool, there is a large bone fire erupting into the sky. Standing beside it is Clare and…Janice.

I try to turn Lizzie back to where we came from, but as soon as she see her, she calls out, “Hey Janice!” and makes her way over to her. Janice turns around and frowns as Lizzie wobbles her way over to her.

“Lizzie, are you all right?” she asks.

“Of course! Never been better!” Lizzie then turns to the fire. “Whoa, it’s like a large volcano!” She lifts her hands up to it and nearly touches the flames before I pull her back.

Screenshot-971

Lizzie giggles. “I wasn’t really going to touch it,” she says.

Janice looks at me and shakes her head. She looks so disappointed. I want to tell her that it wasn’t my fault (well not exactly), but Lizzie goes wandering off toward the pool. Clare is facing the bonfire, but I can see her snickering face. “This is your fault,” I mouth to her, but she just rolls her eyes.

“Wow, the water looks so inviting,” She then says loudly. “So perfect for a skinny dip, no?”

I frown at her as everyone around turns and looks at the pool.

“What the hell?” I start, but then she covers her mouth and starts laughing.

Screenshot-972

I whip my head around to see what everyone is looking at and then gasp. Lizzie is in the pool and she has no clothes on!

“Lizzie!” I shriek rushing over to her. “What are you doing?”

She is giggling loudly. “I was hot,” she says and then dives underwater. I can’t believe my eyes. Lizzie, who was scared to even change in front of anyone (including me), was swimming in the pool with nothing but her birthday suit. What on Earth was in that bag Clare gave me?

Around I could see people laughing and pulling out their cell phones to take pics. The club’s backdoor then opens and out comes the rest of the Tri-Fruhms. Just my luck.

“Oh my gosh!” Charlotte exclaims and laughs. “Way to go Abby!”

“What?” I am completely startled. “No, I didn’t-”

“You know what will be the icing on the cake?” She lowers her voice to a whisper and then nods her head in the direction of Lizzie’s abandoned pile of clothes. “Take them.”

I bite my lip. “I can’t do that.”

Screenshot-976

“Oh yes you can,” says Clare joining Charlotte’s side. “Come on Abby, it’s not that big of a deal. It’s just clothes. Everyone has already seen everything anyway.” The other girls all burst out laughing. “Go on Abby. Show us all you are Tri-Fruhm material.”

Screenshot-973

I walk over to Lizzie’s pile of clothes, but pause once again. Once I did this, there was no going back.

But then again, I did work my butt off the past three weeks to become a Tri-Fruhm. Was I really going to throw all that hard work away?

Taking a deep breath, I pick up Lizzie’s clothes and hurry away. I can hear the Tri-Fruhms laughing as I find a place to stash them, behind a bush.

“It’s just clothes,” I tell myself. “Besides, someone probably would have done this anyway.” It was actually kind of funny if you thought about it. Lizzie of all people was skinny-dipping in the pool and even doing back flips in the water.

Screenshot-978

I walk over to the Clare and Taylor, who are still watching Lizzie and laughing. Lizzie, who is doing flips, suddenly stops and starts to look around.

“Where are my clothes?” she says. She then starts swimming for the ladder. The Tri-Fruhms all burst into laughter and move back.

Screenshot-979

Lizzie then climbs out and starts scanning the floor for her clothes.

“Where are they, I can’t find them,” she says and the Tri-Fruhms laugh even louder. I am feeling even worse than I was before.

“Maybe we should just give them back,” I say, but Clare shakes her head.

“No way, this is too hilarious!”

Screenshot-1443

They all stand laughing as Lizzie spends the next five minutes feeling around on the floor for her clothes. I instantly feel like I am back in high school watching the preps playing a prank on one of the other girls.

Janice, who I noticed was no longer standing by the bonfire, emerges from inside the club caring a towel. She glares at me as she passes by.

“Here, take this,” she says to Lizzie and hands her the towel.

Screenshot-1446

Lizzie wraps the towel around her and then sways slightly.

“But where did my clothes go,” she says, and wobbles toward the pool again. She is nearly about to fall in, but Janice catches her.

“Come on, I think we should go.”

“B-but I have to find my clothes,” Lizzie protests, but Janice pulls her along.

“Don’t worry, I know where they are. Follow me.” She then gives me one last glare, and then she and Lizzie hurry off and disappear around the side of the building.

Screenshot-1447

“That was the best!” says Charlotte smiling at me.

I fake a smile back. “Yah, sure.”

“You’ve definitely proved yourself as a Tri-Fruhm. Nice.” Charlotte then taps my shoulder and heads back into the club.

Clare passes me and smirks. “I told you that you’d be thanking me,” she says, and then follows the Tri-Fruhms back inside.

I however, don’t feel like thanking her. I feel like shoving her head through a wall. Because of her, I betrayed my best friend. Well, I guess I can’t really blame her. The only person to blame is me.

-Evanglina

Leave a Reply

