Year 2: Chapter 2: Return to Aderson Hall (Abby’s POV)

Screenshot-4229

I take one last look at my house before revving up my engine and taking off down the street. I can’t believe that summer is already over and I am heading back to Aberdale U. It’s kind of a bummer. Not completely though. After all, there is a certain person I am very, very eager to see, which will give me all the determination I need to beat Lizzie back to campus. I know it’s not the best thing to be car racing, but, hey, you got to live a little. I’m actually surprise Lizzie even agreed. Then again, she has changed a lot over the year, mostly due to everything that happened last year. And yes, I know I was a big part of it (not everything that happened was good), but still. I like the way she has become. Still the same studious hard worker, but also willing to have a little bit of fun. “But not too much fun,” as she always says.

Screenshot-4227

I take a turn down the street and head for the highway, bobbing my head to “You Steal My Sunshine,” blasting from my radio. It looks like Lizzie has gotten a bit of a head start. Whatever. She may be ahead for now, but I’ll catch up. My mind is a bit distracted. My leaving was harder on my mom than it was last year. I am starting to think being alone all these years is getting to her. Or maybe it was her sister (my aunt) making a comment about how she and my uncle were going to be celebrating their eighth year wedding anniversary. I know she wasn’t trying to, but I think she came across as a little rude to my mom. She felt like she was rubbing it into her face that she was happily married and my mom is not. I think she didn’t realize it, but my mom thinks otherwise. I just hope she will be okay. Maybe I should think about fixing her up on another date. I tried to do that over the summer, but the date didn’t work out to well. I heard my mom yelling something about his occupation being a circus clown. I have heard her talking about some guy at her work, though. Maybe I will look into that when I come home over winter break. It beats the weird comments she has made here and there about Lizzie’s uncle, Rick. Ugh.

Screenshot-4230

I am so wrapped up in my thoughts about my mom and her co-worker, that I don’t even notice that Lizzie has long passed me. I glance at my watch and see that it is almost one o’ clock. I have been driving for almost two hours. In just fifteen minutes, I will be driving onto the Aberdale U campus. I can’t believe I got so sidetracked. After checking around me, I step on my gas petal and floor it. Maybe if I am lucky, Lizzie isn’t too far ahead.

Screenshot-4237

As I approach Aderson hall, I see Lizzie pulling into the parking lot out back. “Yes!” I think. I then pull my car right beside her and we get out at the same time.

Screenshot-4235

“So it looks like we tied,” I say, as she walks over to me. “I am surprised though. I didn’t expect it from you.”

Lizzie smirks. “Oh it’s not over yet,” she says.

Screenshot-4238

I frown. “What do you mean?”

“I mean, first one to our room, gets pick, remember?” She then winks and takes off running to the front.

I am so stunned that I just stand there like an idiot for a few second before taking off after her.

Screenshot-4239

“You are totally cheating!” I call while hurrying after her.

“How?” Lizzie calls back. “You are the one that said first one to the room! Your words, not mine!” She then pushes open the front doors and rushes in. I’m sure the people that see us running by, think we are lunatics. Or freshmen.

Screenshot-4245

Lizzie stops at the Dorm advisor desk and checks in, with me right behind her. She then hurries up the stairs as I check in.

Screenshot-4246

I take the keys from the RA and then head up the staircase slowly. No use in running now. From the sound of Lizzie’s giggling, I can tell that she’s already there.

Screenshot-4250

“All right, I admit defeat,” I say as I enter. From the looks of things, we have gotten Lizzie’s old room from last quarter.

Lizzie laughs. “It’s okay, it’s all in good fun. Let’s get our stuff so we can unpack.”

Screenshot-4233

We spend the next hour unloading our things from our cars and unpacking them into our room. Lizzie ends up liking the left side of the room, so I get the right (which is the side I would have wanted anyway.)

Screenshot-4262

Soon all our things are unpacked and our room looks nicely decorated. I smile, relieved that we finally have gotten the chance to be roommates. It does make me feel a little guilty though. We could have had this last year if I hadn’t messed things up. Well at least we were getting another shot at it.

Screenshot-4254

“You look deep in thought,” Lizzie says, walking over to me. “What’s up?”

I smile. “Nothing. I guess I’m just glad that we get the chance to be roommates this year.”

Lizzie smiles. “Me too, finally.” She then laughs. “I didn’t expect to get the same room I had last year though. Weird coincidence.”

“Totally.” I check my watch. “We made good time. It’s only 2:30. When did Janice say she would be here?”

Lizzie shrugs. “I’m actually not sure. She said she would be here in the afternoon, but she didn’t give me an exact time.”

Screenshot-4259

“Well, you should text her and ask. I want to head up to the meet and greet soon.”

“Oh do you?” Lizzie gives me a funny smile.

I arch my eyebrow. “Yes, and I know you do too.”

Lizzie’s cheeks redden slightly. “I have no idea what you mean,” she says, and pulls out her phone.

“Uh huh. Sure you don’t.”

Screenshot-4252

Just then, Lizzie gets a beep from her cell phone.

“What the?” She glances up at me. “Apparently, Janice is already here.”

I frown. “What?”

“She’s at the meet and greet. She says she got in last night so that she could spend some extra time with Greg.”

Screenshot-4264

I roll my eyes. “Figures. Wish she had told us that ahead of time.” I move over to the door and then push it open. “We should head over then.”

Lizzie nods. “Right behind you.”

We both then leave and go downstairs.

Screenshot-4269

As we near the end of the stairs, we can see some excited girls giggling in the hallway as they get their keys from the dorm advisor. I smile. That was totally me last year. Well, that and I also got in a big fight with Lizzie in the lobby. I notice two girls link arms and go up the stairs together. That should have been Lizzie and me last year.

I shake my head. I need to stop thinking about that. What was done was done. It’s a new year, which means new starts. Lizzie and I were going to get a do over. We were both roommates now and in way, it was like last year didn’t happen. Still, I know it did, I am going to make sure that a year like last year, never happens again.

Screenshot-4273

Lizzie and I hop into my pink Honda, and then drive down to the student union building. The warm breeze whips through my hair as I roll my window down. I should enjoy it. Fall has already begun, so it is only a matter of time before we are greeted with cold weather.

Screenshot-4274

As I enter into the student union building, I hear laughing and turn to see the llama mascot doing some strange chicken dance in the corner by some freshmen. I smile and pass by. Lizzie wanders over to a booth table and I smile, noticing it’s for the writing club. I hurry upstairs onto the second floor and grin when I see someone familiar standing by one of the booth lines for the Alpha Annya. I call out his name and he turns.

Screenshot-4276

Charls raises a hand to his head and grins. “Does my sight deceive me? Is that Abby Clawson I see?”

I laugh and walk over to him.

Screenshot-4281

“You have got to stop doing that. I’m starting to think those drama classes you’ve been taking all summer, are getting to your head.”

Charls frowns. “I know not what you mean, dear maiden.”

I arch my eyebrow. “Charls…”

He laughs. “All right, I’m done.”

Charls had told me during the summer that he wanted to take some drama classes. Apparently, he got inspired during his trip to visit his brother in New York. I don’t know if he is going to minor in it along with his major in business, but we will see.

Screenshot-4280

I smile and pull him in for a hug. “How was your summer? I’ve missed you.”

Charls laughs. “Good, but Abby, we saw each other three weeks ago.”

“I know, but it still feels like so long ago.” Every minute away from Charls felt like torture. Which is funny, because it was me that had said that I wanted to take things slow. At the end of spring quarter last year, I had told Charls that I wanted to be sure I was over Brad Roberts (my ex-boyfriend) before starting a new relationship with him. I didn’t want Charls to be like a rebound. Anyways, Charls agreed, and we limited our contact to phone calls and texts. But surprisingly, it took only a month for me to want way more than that. So, we started doing web chats and trying our best to meet up. Since Charls was going to be going to visit his brother in New York, that made things very difficult. Still, he did manage to come over and visit me before leaving. We spent a week together and I even introduced to him to my mom and Tommy. Though my mom was a bit guarded at first (thanks to Brad breaking my heart), she warmed up to him by the end of his visit. Even Tommy asked when he would be coming back. I have to say, he and Charls really bonded.

It was then that I realized that I didn’t want to wait any longer to be with him, and he felt the same.

Screenshot-4282

Charls pulls away and smiles at me. “I agree. I’ve missed you too.” I feel a warm tingle rush through my entire body. I love when Charls smiles at me like that. Sometimes I wish that I could have met him before Brad. Maybe things wouldn’t have happened the way that they did. But I guess there is no use thinking back. I needed to focus on now.

“So boyfriend,” I say giving him a flirty smile, “do you have any plans for tonight?”

Charls sighs. “Actually, yes. The Alpha Annyas are doing some mixers with the Alpha Beta Phi’s. Brad’s idea.”

I frown. “The Alpha Beta Phi’s?” I knew that the Tri-Fruhms chapter had been expelled from campus, but I hadn’t heard if there were any other sororities taking their place. I had heard of the Alpha Beta Phi’s but not as much as the Tri-Fruhms.

Charls nods. “Yup. With the Tri-Fruhms gone, they have really stepped up. They’ve been getting more recognition and Brad wants to get in on it.”

I roll my eyes. “Figures.”

Screenshot-4294

I lean forward. “That’s too bad, because I was thinking that it has been a long time since we’ve really been together.” I smile flirtatiously and play with the collar of his shirt. “If you know what I mean.”

Charls grins and gives me a look of hurt. “You, are not playing fair.”

I laugh. “No, I guess I am not.”

Screenshot-4297

Charls sighs and takes my hands into his. “I wish I could ditch, but I can’t.”

I smile. “It’s okay. Raincheck?”

“Definitely. But until then…”

Screenshot-4291

Charls pulls me to him and presses his lips against mine. My knees nearly buckle beneath me. I feel my body tingling all over and my eyes drift closed as I kiss him back. “Oh yes,” I think to myself, “Absence definitely does make the heart grow founder.”

(Hey! Thanks for reading! I will do my best to post on Tuesdays and Fridays! Please enjoy, follow, share and comment if you liked it! If you just started reading, you can start the story from the beginning here:

Year 1: Chapter 1: https://lizzieandabbythecollegediaries.wordpress.com/2014/08/06/chapter-1-lizzie-drake/

Thank you again!)

-Evanglina

Leave a Reply

