Chapter 38: Meet & Greet (Lizzie’s POV)

Screenshot-280

Janice and I spend most of the afternoon shopping at the fashion store downtown. We get back to our dorm around three, thirty minutes before going to the student union building. I decided to change into a new outfit before I go, so I tell Janice to leave without me. I purchased a great new outfit from the store and I can’t wait to show it off. It’s so weird, but for the first time in a long time, I actually feel happy.

Just as I finish changing, my cell phone goes off. Checking the caller ID, I see that it’s Michael. I smile. It will be nice to talk to him since I didn’t hear from him during winter break. Granted, I didn’t really contact him either, so I guess I can’t talk.

Screenshot-281

“Hey Michael!” I say cheerfully, “how are you?”

“You sound happy. Have a good break?”

I laugh. “That I did. How about you?”

“It was okay. I missed you though.”

Screenshot-282

I feel a strange tingly sensation in my stomach. “You did?”

“Of course. Who else am I going to see cheesy festival movies with?”

I laugh. “Well fear not. I have returned.”

“Here, here! So, you going to that beach party thing tonight?”

“I was thinking of swinging by. Janice said it was going to be nice.”

“Cool. So was I. Maybe we’ll meet up.”

“Sounds good to me.”

“Cool.” There is a bit of a pause before I add,

“And Michael?”

“Yeah?”

“I missed you too.” I then click off the phone. It’s so weird, I feel flustered all of a sudden.

Screenshot-285

After a quick touch up in front of my mirror, I head down the stairs and out to my car. It’s a beautiful sunny day and it does wonders to my spirit. Some of my other housemates are hanging around outside and enjoying the weather. Breathing in the cool air, I start my engine and take off.

Screenshot-289

It’s a short drive over to the student union building and soon I am walking through the front doors. It feels so nice to be back. I know it is a bit dorky, but I really can’t wait to start my new classes. I am taking an awesome communication class this quarter that is supposed to be very “hands on.” I can’t wait!

Screenshot-308

I decide to check the bulletin board for any events. The writing club has listed another meeting two weeks from now. I feel a bit of pain in my chest from looking at it. I hate seeing anything about the writing club. All it does is remind me of Kendal. I still can’t believe everything that happened between us. Why wouldn’t he believe me? Nothing that had happened was my fault!  Well, I guess going to the party in the first place was, but I didn’t ask for the Tri-Fruhms to do what they did. Why couldn’t he have seen that?

I sigh in frustration. I guess there is no point in worrying about it now. Kendal and I are over and nothing is going to change that.

Screenshot-306

Just as I turn to leave, someone catches my shoulder and turns me around.

“Michael!” I say in surprise. He is standing in front of me with a smile on his face.

“Lizzie, fancy meeting you here.”

“Same to you. What are you doing here?”

“I was just using the computer lab. I had to switch my communications class. It was going to clash with one of my other classes.”

“Oh, who are you taking now?”

“Mrs. Rosebaum, at noon on Tuesdays and Thursdays.”

Screenshot-305

My eyes widen. “Is it communications 214?”

Michael nods. “Yes, why?”

“That’s the same class I’m taking!”

Michael raises his eyebrows. “Really? Well it looks like we will be classmates this quarter.”

I laugh. “I guess so.” Michael and I in class together? What are the odds?

I then stretch. “Well, I should head off. The beach party is going to start in a bit and I should go get ready.”

“You look fine to me,” says Michael.

I feel that tingling sensation in my stomach again, a little stronger than before. “Thank you.”

Screenshot-295

Before I can stop myself, I pull Michael into a hug. He seems startled, but then he hugs me back.

“It’s really nice to see you again,” he says into my ear softly. His voice tickles my eardrums.

“It’s nice to see you too,” I whisper back.

Screenshot-310

After saying goodbye to Michael, I leave in search of Janice. I find her hanging with her friend Eddy and then the two of us head out of the student union together. All the way, I feel like my mind is racing miles a minute. What was that with Michael? That funny feeling I have been feeling with him. Sometimes if just felt like maybe…something else was there.

-Evanglina

(Sorry for the long break in Chapters! I will try and post them more consistently, about two a week! Please enjoy! 🙂 )

Leave a Reply

