Chapter 30: Winter Begins (Lizzie’s POV)

Screenshot-1590

I wake up the next morning feeling refreshed. Looking over, I notice the side where Judy was sleeping is empty. I quickly check my clock. It’s almost eleven am! I normally always wake up by nine the latest. I must have been really tired.

Screenshot-1591

After stretching, I make my side of the bed and then walk over to the other side to make it as well. I then leave and head for the bathroom.

Screenshot-1592

Since everyone is downstairs, I decide to enjoy myself with a long soak in the tub. I pour in my mom’s rose scented bath gel and the tub fills up with bubbles. Confused, I check the label and realize its Judy’s Rose scented bubble bath. Whoops. Even so, it is still very relaxing.

Screenshot-1616

After my bath, I throw on some clothes and then head downstairs. My dad has gone out with Judy so after I finish eating a quick breakfast of toast and yogurt, I join my mom on the family room sofa.

Screenshot-1617

“So, you are finally up,” my mom says, turning down the volume. She is watching Mary Poppin’s, a movie she loves watching every year around Christmas.

I yawn and stretch. “Yup I am. I guess I was really tired from the drive back up.”

“Well honey, I love that you came a day earlier, but why didn’t you just come this morning? It’s dangerous to be driving on the road when you are sleepy.”

“Well I wasn’t that sleepy,” I protest, “and I didn’t want to wait because of, well, Abby. I wanted to make things less awkward by coming before she did. I guess it didn’t really matter since she came the same day anyway…”

Screenshot-1618

“Oh yes, I should have thought about that. I cannot believe that girl.” My mother then does something that I haven’t really heard her do. She curses.

“Mom!” I say, completely taken aback.

My mom exhales sharply. “I’m sorry, Lizzie. I am still so furious about what she did.”

“Well technically she didn’t. The Tri-Fruhms did.”

“Well, she stood by and let them do it! She didn’t do anything to stop them! For what? Some silly initiation?”

“I know. I am still angry too, but I have tried to let it go.”

“Lizzie! There was a video of you naked in that swimming pool sent around campus!”

Screenshot-1619

I grimace. “Thanks for reminding me.”

“I’m not trying to remind you, I’m just trying to say that by her standing by and not doing anything, it makes her a part of it. I can’t believe you didn’t let me talk to-”

“Mom, I’m an adult. I can handle it. Besides, I don’t want this to come between you and Mrs. Clawson.”

My mom gives me a look and then sighs. “I just can’t believe it. I never would have thought Abby could behave in such a way.”

“Neither did I.”

Screenshot-1620

“By the way, whatever happened with that new boyfriend of yours? Did the two of you figure things out?”

I had only told my mom about him during my visit for Thanksgiving. I didn’t really go into details, but I did tell her that we were going through some things.

“No we didn’t.” I say flatly. It still stings to talk about Kendal.

“Oh no! What happened?”

“Well it’s simple. He thinks I’m some wild party girl and that is not the kind of girl he wants to date.”

Screenshot-1622

“What?” My mother looks appalled. “Why would he think that?”

“He saw the video of me, mom. Someone sent it to him. So now, he thinks I am one of the Tri-Fruhms. Even I have to admit, it does make me look like one.”

“Don’t say that!” My mother snaps. “It was not your fault that some pompous insecure girls felt the need to play such a prank because they have nothing better to do.”

“They are anything but insecure,” I add, but my mom ignores me.

“If that boy doesn’t believe that, he’s not worth your time.”

Screenshot-1623

I let out a sigh. “I guess. I still miss him though.”

“Oh I know. First break ups always do. I remember mine.” My mom smiles. “You will get over him honey. I promise.”

Screenshot-1625

After our talk, mom tunes back into her movie. I watch with her for a while, before my mind starts to wonder. What if I had never gone to that party? Or what if I Kendal had come to the party with me? Would we still be together right now?

Screenshot-1628

I then hear the front door open and in comes my dad with Judy. He enters into the family and kisses mom, which tells me it’s my cue to leave. The last thing I need to see is my parents kissing on the sofa. I then leave the family room and head up to my room.

Screenshot-1634

I spend the rest of the afternoon typing away at my computer. Over the past couple weeks, I have been getting ideas for a novel. Something about a girl figuring out who she is and whom she wants to be with. It still has no title, but that doesn’t bother me. I feel like the title will come to me when it is ready.

I’m surprised when I stop and realize I have typed seven chapters straight. If things keep going this way, I could have half of this book done before the end of break. I sigh and look out the window toward Abby’s house. “I wonder what Abby is up to,” I think. I then turn back to my computer and spend the rest of the evening in the world of my novel.

-Evanglina

Leave a Reply

