Chapter 25: Final Examinations (Lizzie’s POV)

Screenshot-1497

It’s the morning of my final two exams and I am totally nervous. In just an hour, I will be taking my math and psych 101 final. Let’s hope all those study sessions and tutoring with Michael will pay off.

I hurry into the bathroom and get dressed, pausing by the mirror to check myself. “Okay,” I tell myself, “you are all ready.”

Screenshot-1507

I then head out the front door to class. I try my best to fill myself with confidence. “You’ve been studying non-stop for the past week,” I tell myself. “You can do this Lizzie.”

Screenshot-940

It is when I approach the classroom door to my Math 107 class, that I start to feel nervous again. “Stop it!” I say to myself. “You have studied. You are prepared. No go in and ace this thing.” Finally gaining the courage, I push the door to the classroom open and enter.

Screenshot-941

Inside, I see my professor gathering the exam papers and preparing them to pass out. Although the back seats are empty, I decide on a seat that is a little closer to the front of the room. The quicker I get my test, the faster I can finish.

Screenshot-943

As I take my seat, my professor, Susan Hedgewaters, hands the exam papers to the people sitting in front and they start to pass it back.

“All right,” she says, standing back at her podium. “You will have an hour to complete this exam. Once you are finished, you may turn it into me and then you are free to go. Now, you may begin.”

Screenshot-1478

When I start my exam, I expect it to be like in the movies, where the person taking the test blanks out and doesn’t remember a thing. To my surprise, everything comes fairly easy to me, well, at least a little. I remember the equations to solve each problem and after twenty-five minutes, I have completed the exam.

Screenshot-1480

I spend the next ten minutes double-checking my answers and when everything looks good, I leave my chair and hand my test to Professor Hedgewaters. I then exit through the classroom door, deciding to head over to my next class early. It doesn’t hurt to look over my psyche notes before the exam begins.

Screenshot-1509

I am extremely relieved when I finish my psyche exam and am out for the day. I was pretty nervous, but I believe I did fairly well. I suppose if I don’t get a perfect 4.0 GPA, it won’t be the end of the world. I’m still hoping for it though!

I bask in the excitement of being done with classes for the quarter, when suddenly I remember something I have forgotten to do. My spirits immediately deflate. I need to talk to Kendal.

Screenshot-1287

Jumping in my car, I take off for Kendal’s apartment. I hate to ambush him like this, but he has not answering my texts or my calls and it has been over a month.

Screenshot-1288

I arrive at his place in ten minutes. I park my car on the curb and then walk up to his front door. My heart is beating hard in my chest. I don’t know what is coming, but I know it won’t be good.

Screenshot-1297

Kendal answers on the third ring. “Elizabeth,” he says looking a bit surprised. I start to regret not calling first.

“Hey, I’m sorry to just come over like this, but I think we really need to talk.”

Kendal looks at me for a moment and then sighs. “Come in.” He then moves aside, and I enter into the foyer of his apartment.

Screenshot-1300

“I’m just going to come right out and ask.” I take a deep breath. “Kendal, what is going on? You have been so distant for the past month. I didn’t want to say anything about it, because of school and everything, but I can’t let it go anymore. What is it?”

Kendal looks toward the ground. “Well, um. I guess I have been-”

“Is there someone else? Because if there is, I would rather you just tell me.”

Kendal scoffs. “No, of course not. I am not that type of guy.”

“I don’t even know what guy you are anymore Kendal. I never thought you would just leave me hanging like that.”

“I told you I was busy.”

“And I am not stupid. I know there is more to it than that.”

Screenshot-1299

Kendal becomes quiet.

I sigh, suddenly remembering something. “You know, this all started after that stupid party Abby invited me to. Are you mad that I went?”

“No, I-I am not mad that you went Lizzie.” He pushes his glasses back onto the bridge of his nose.

I bite my lip. “You saw it, didn’t you?”

“Saw what?”

“The video of me at Abby’s party.”

Kendal becomes quiet again. He then nods slowly. “I did, and I must say, I was very surprised with you. When we met, you never striked me as, well…”

“A party girl?” I finish.

Kendal looks at me for a second and then sighs. “Yes.”

“Well, if you had bothered to ask me, I would have told you that someone spiked my drink at that party. That is why I acted like that. I don’t even remember what happened that night. It was some prank the Tri-Fruhms were doing for Abby’s hazing.”

“If that is true, then why didn’t you report it?”

“Because…because Ab-”

“Because your one of them aren’t you? One of those sorority girls.” Kendal shakes his head. “Look, I really like you and everything, but I’m not really into the whole Greek thing. It’s not my scene.”

Screenshot-1302

I frown and look at him disgusted. “It’s not my scene either.”

“You could have fooled me.”

My jaw drops. “You think I enjoyed being drugged that night?”

Kendal shrugs. “Look, I don’t understand the weird jokes that the fraternities and sororities play on each other, and I don’t care too. I just don’t. And I don’t really associate myself with people who do either.”

I pause for a moment and just stare at him. “So what are you saying?”

“I’m saying, I think we should break up.”

Screenshot-1305

I stare at him in shock. Did he really just say what I think he did? “You want us to break up?”

“I think it is for the best. We clearly want different things and live different lifestyles. I don’t think they mix.”

“Kendal, I had no control over what happened that night! Don’t you believe me?” Kendal scratches his head and looks away, giving me his final answer. “I guess that’s a no,” I say and then head for the door. I don’t want to give him the satisfaction of seeing me cry at his expense.

Screenshot-1314

“Goodbye Kendal,” I snap and then I open the door and hurry out.

“Elizabeth,” I hear him call after me, but I ignore it. Kendal was definitely not the guy I thought he was. First time that I really needed him to have my back, he went running. Maybe it was a good thing this was happening. Maybe it was a hint that better things were on the horizon. But even as I head back to my door, my heart is still panging for him. Moving on was not going to be easy.

-Evanglina

Leave a Reply

