Chapter 31: Out In The Town (Abby’s POV)

Screenshot-1593

It’s ten o’ clock in the morning by the time I get up. I’m surprised, considering that I went to bed at two. I make my bed and then head into the bathroom.

Screenshot-1594

I jump into the shower and take an amazing shower. I don’t know why, but I have the song “Baby Its Cold Outside,” stuck in my head. I hum the notes quietly as I finish my shower and continue, as I get dressed.

Screenshot-1595

Stopping by the mirror, I touch up my face and paint some lipstick onto my lips. On my way to the door, I hear my phone ring. It’s Brad!

Screenshot-1596

“Hey babe, what’s up?” I say, sweetly.

“Hey, I just wanted to let you know that I am free this weekend to come down and visit.”

I grin. “Really?”

“Yup. I can be there by Wednesday.”

“That’s perfect!”

“Thought you’d think so. Well, I’m about to head out. I just thought I would call you quick and let you know.”

“Thanks. I can’t wait. I love you.”

“Love you too.”

I then hang up and go downstairs to the kitchen.

Screenshot-1598

I rummage through the fridge and find a plate of pumpkin pie. That’s something I never get tired of during the holidays, eating pumpkin pie and of course, drinking eggnog. I wolf down a slice of pie and even grab a second slice. It’s a good thing that Charlotte isn’t here. She would freak about the calorie intake.

Screenshot-1602

After I slip my dish into the washer, I turn to see a note sticking to the fridge:

“Had to run to work. Let’s meet up at the Fashion Boutique later!”

-Mom

Ah, she knows me way too well. I quickly head down the steps and to a nearby bus stop.

Screenshot-1603

I arrive at the stop in twenty minutes and leave a message on my mother’s cell. I then explore the store until my mom gets there an hour later.

“You beat me here,” she says, as she comes through the door.

“I had already left before I called you,” I say laughing. “I didn’t see Tommy at home though.”

“Don’t worry, he’s at a friend’s house. I’ll pick him up on our way back.”

Screenshot-1605

We then head toward the racks of clothes and our day of shopping begins. As we shop, I fill in mom about everything that has happened over the past few months, starting with Brad and ending with the situation with Lizzie.

Screenshot-1607

I brace myself for a lecture about peer pressure, but instead I get something entirely different.

“Wow, the girls at your school are pretty mild compared to some of the sorority divisions at my old university.”

I frown. “Huh?”

“The girls there were terrible. You should have seen some of the hazing those pledges suffered.” My mom shivers and shakes her head.

“So…you’re not mad?” I ask curiously.

Screenshot-1609

“No sweetie, I’m not. I am very sorry you had to go through such hazing, but I am proud that you became a Tri-Fruhm! I told you once that I tried to pledge to them, but I didn’t get in. I am proud to have a daughter that has.”

She hugs me and I just blink in surprise. “Yah, well…I just feel bad about Lizzie. I hated doing that to her.”

“She’ll come around,” my mom says with I smile, but I shake my head.

“No, I don’t think so Mom. The video spread through most of the campus. It was bad. I can’t blame her if she never forgives me.”

“Well, things like this happen at a party. Even if the Tri-Fruhms didn’t do this, someone else surely could have. She needed to be more careful. She is lucky that is was you and not someone else. It could have been worse.”

Again, I freeze and look at her. “What?”

“I always thought that girl was too sheltered. Carolina never let her see what really happens out there. Maybe this incident has taught her something.”

I am so stunned that I don’t know what to say. My mom sounds so strange, dare I say…bitter?

Screenshot-1609

I decide it would be better to change the subject.

“Anyways, I talked to Brad and he said he can come visit this Wednesday.”

“Oh really? That’s wonderful! I can’t wait to meet him.”

“Me too.”

“So I am going to assume if you are bringing him over that you two are serious?”

I smile and blush. “We are.”

“So have you two…” My mom narrows her eyes at me and my jaw drops in surprise.

“Mom!”

“I’ll take that as a yes. Is there anything you want to talk about?”

“No! And even if I did, definitely not here!” I look over my shoulder to make sure no one can hear us. What on Earth possessed my mom to think asking me here was a good idea?

Screenshot-1613

“All right, I’m sorry,” my mom, says, chuckling. She then gives me a hug. “I just want to make sure you are okay.”

“I am,” I whisper into her ear. “I really am.”

-Evanglina

Leave a Reply

