Chapter 7: Manic Monday (Lizzie’s POV)

Screenshot-771

So it’s the first day of school and I am off to a very bad start. My alarm clock didn’t go off so I end up over sleeping and then to complement that, I end up taking a cold shower since the hot water is all gone. Since the dining hall has stopped serving breakfast, I end up just grabbing a bagel from the kitchen fridge. Could my day get any more worse?

Yes, it can. I stumble into class fifteen minutes late, and find out that I completely forgot to read the first three chapters of my textbook before. That definitely doesn’t help when my professor calls on me and I look like an idiot in front of the whole class. Off to a great start Lizzie.

Luckily, I make it through the rest of the morning okay, relieved when my final class gets out at one. As I am heading out, I hear my cell phone ring. Looking down, I read the caller ID. It’s Kendal!

“Hey Kendal. How are you?”

“I’m doing well. I hope I am not disturbing you.”

“No, not at all. What’s up?”

“Well, I was wondering if you wanted to meet up at the library. We could go over some things before the writing club meeting later this week.”

“Sure. I’ll be there in ten.”

“All right, see you soon.”

Screenshot-772

After saying goodbye to Kendal, I stash my phone into my pocket and head down the sidewalk. Maybe just maybe things were looking up. I am so thrilled about seeing Kendal that I am not watching where I am going and run right into someone.

Screenshot-773

“S-sorry!” I say, and quickly straighten myself, and then look up to see a guy standing in front of me. He has dark brown hair and light blue eyes that catch mine. His shoulders are well built and he shrugs them as he tries to catch his balance.

“It’s all right. Believe it or not, you’re not the first person to run into me today.” He flashes me a smile and I feel my cheeks flush slightly and my heartbeat start to increase.  What is going on with me?

Screenshot-774

“You okay?” He asks.

I blink and shake my head slightly. “Yes, I’m fine. Sorry.”

The guy gives me a funny smile. “You a freshmen?”

I smile. “How could you tell?”

“Lucky guess. My name’s Michael Dawson.” He reaches his hand to shake mine and I take it.

“Mine is Elizabeth, but I go by Lizzie.”

“All right Lizzie, so where are you headed?”

“The library, but I know where that is.”

Screenshot-775

He raises an eyebrow. “You sure?”

“Yes, I’m sure.” I pick up the rest of my things from the floor. I am feeling so flustered and it’s really weirding me out. I don’t even know this guy. So why was I feeling so nervous? “Well, I’ll s-see you around,” I say, giving him a little wave and then I quickly hurry down the sidewalk.

“See you around Lizzie,” he calls after me, and I can see from the corner of my eye that he is smiling.

Screenshot-780

I finally arrive at the library ten minutes later, twenty minutes after I said I would be there. I start to worry that maybe Kendal has already left. After all the weirdness with that guy, Michael Dawson, my head is still reeling. I had only just met him, but I felt as if I already knew him.

Screenshot-781

I head toward the back of the library scanning the room for Kendal, but I don’t see him anywhere. I feel disappointment set in. Maybe he had really left. But wouldn’t he have called me first? Or was he so irritated that he didn’t bother?

Screenshot-782

Just as I am about to leave, I hear someone call my name from behind.

“Sorry, I’m late,” says Kendal. “There was a bit of a fiasco going on at my place, but everything is fine now.”

Screenshot-783

“It’s cool,” I say, and smile. I can feel the butterflies starting in my stomach again.

“Shall we get started?”

I nod. “Sure.”

Screenshot-792

We both then find a table and discuss details for the writer’s club meeting. The meeting apparently has now been postponed to next week since Kendal is having some issues finding the right space. The days he wanted for the student union meeting room now seem to be unavailable. Still, he gives me an assignment, to write a short story about a personal life experience. Each of the group members have been assigned the same thing and after he finally gets the meeting space, we will all meet and workshop our stories. I am both excited and nervous. I have never shared my writing with anyone other than my parents, sister, and Abby. Well, I guess I have shared my work with my creative writing class back in high school, but that feels like forever ago. I decide to read some writing manuals to get some ideas. Since I am working with other experienced writers here, it doesn’t hurt to be cautious.

Screenshot-791

Soon, it’s starting to get a bit late. I place the manual I was reading back on the shelf and turn to Kendal who is standing beside me.

“You thinking about heading out?” he asks with a smile.

“Yes, I’m sorry,” I say regretfully, “I should head back to my dorm. I can’t believe it’s already five.”

“Time does fly when you’re reading manuals.”

I laugh. “Thanks though. I had a good time.” I turn to leave, but he pulls me back.

Screenshot-790

“I hope this won’t sound too forward, but I was wondering if you would like to go out to a movie with me on Friday.”

My heart immediately starts to race inside my chest. “Y-you mean like a date?” I didn’t realize how weird that sounded until Kendal chuckles.

“Yes, a date.”

Screenshot-788

I bite my lip and nod. “I would love to,” I say and then smile. I can’t believe it. First a whole afternoon with Kendal and now we have a date for this Friday? Maybe my luck was finally turning round.

-Evanglina

Leave a Reply

