Year 2: Chapter 15: Sorority Underway (Abby’s POV)

Screenshot-4978

I’m so thrilled that Lizzie is finally onboard. I must admit I am a bit surprised by her sudden change, especially after she said over and over how she wouldn’t, but I don’t want to question it.

Afterwards, it feels like everything is falling into place. With Lizzie’s help, I am able to finalize my petition (with some help from Kimberly’s social media) and turn it in to the Dean. Waiting to hear back from him feels like torture. I find myself constantly checking my e-mail to see if he has responded.

So I am extremely anxious when I log into my school e-mail account a week later and see an e-mail from him. My hands are shaking as I open the e-mail and read the message.

I nearly scream aloud when I read it. The dean has given me approval to start forming the Beta Gamma Kappas! Kimberly is going to be over the moon.

Screenshot-4942

I share the news with Lizzie and Janice when we meet up for a study session at the café. They are both happy for me, but I can detect some uneasiness in Lizzie. It’s as if she is holding back her excitement. I suppose I understand though. With everything that happened to her last year, I know she is still a bit on guard about helping a sorority. Still, I really hope she comes around. She has done so much for me already and I want it to keep going. She has helped Kimberly and I figure out most of the other requirements for starting a sorority and even agreed to type up our Beta Gamma Kappa constitution and guidelines. She has done so much, that it feels weird that she still doesn’t want to be a part of it. I can only hope that she will see what I am trying to do and finally join in.

Screenshot-4411

Two days before Thanksgiving, I run into Kimberly on my way from Art class. I haven’t really seen much of her in the past week, due to her being busy with classes and promoting our sorority. The most I have gotten from her, are text messages telling me that things were going well and that I would hear from her soon.

“Hey Kim,” I say cheerfully, “what’s up?”

Kimberly smiles. “Oh, so much! I’m sorry I haven’t gotten back to you. I have been trying to do some promotional work for us. I set up a booth during one of the Greek events, but the Alpha Beta Phis got me closed down. They are really impossible.”

“Ugh,” I roll my eyes. “We’ll never recruit anyone with the way they are going.”

“Hey, don’t count us out just yet.” Kimberly grins. “I didn’t say that we didn’t recruit anyone.”

I raise my eyebrows. “Wait, you got some people interested?”

“Two girls. It’s not much, but it’s a start. I think we will get more attention if we can promote ourselves at some sort of Greek event. It also wouldn’t hurt if we have a larger following than just well…us.”

Screenshot-4407

I nod. “I know, it is a bit pathetic that it is just us.”

“Well, do you think you could get Lizzie and Janice on board? That would at least make four of us, and give us more of a standing.”

I shrug. “I don’t know. Lizzie has been pretty helpful, but she doesn’t seem to really be interested in actually joining. Janice either.”

Kimberly sighs. “Then I don’t know. There is only so much I can do. I think we would get a lot more people interested if our sorority had a larger following. Are you sure there is no way you can convince them?”

I bite my lip. “Well, I can try talking to them. Janice might come around, but I have no idea about Lizzie.”

“Well, that sounds like a start. Also, it wouldn’t hurt to get a sorority or Frat to back us up. Someone like the Alpha Annyas.” Kimberly waggles her eyebrows at me.

I laugh. “I see what you mean, but Charls isn’t the frat president, Brad is. And as you know, I am dating Charls, Brad’s best friend. So, I’m not exactly their favorite person.”

Screenshot-4412

Kimberly nods. “True, but still. It doesn’t hurt to ask.”

I sigh. “I guess. I’ll try.”

Kimberly checks her watch. “All right, I got to head to my next class. Keep me posted over break?”

“Definitely.”

Kimberly then heads off and I continue down the sidewalk to my dorm. All the while, I keep asking myself, how was I going to convince Lizzie to join a sorority?

Screenshot-5538

I am still thinking about this, when I pull up beside a vacant house to my right. It is a two-story house painted white with a nice staircase in front. Curious, I pull my car over and slip outside.

Screenshot-5540

As I stand in front just staring at it, I can feel the wheels turning in my head. This, is going to be the Beta Gamma Kappas sorority house. I just see us written all over it. I know it is a bit premature, but I just know that it is going to be ours. It definitely will need some work to get it in top shape, but it is totally perfect for us. If I can just get us to the minimum requirement of seven people, this house is totally ours. Well, with approval from the Dean of course. Getting Lizzie and Janice on board was now more important than ever.

Screenshot-4348

I am still thinking about this later at dinner, when Lizzie comes to join me at my table. I am a bit taken aback, put I try to play it as cool as I can.

“Hey Liz,” I say with a smile. “How goes it?”

“Good,” says Lizzie and she slips into a seat across from me. “Just tiring. I finished another paper for communications. That class is seriously kicking my butt. I am psyched to be getting a bit of a break this week for Thanksgiving. Though honestly, I’m holding out for Christmas.”

I laugh. “I never thought I would see the day when Lizzie Drake couldn’t charm a teacher.”

Lizzie rolls her eyes. “Whatever.”

I take another bite of my California sushi roll and exhale deeply. I know that I have to ask her about it sooner than later. She seems in a good mood right now. If I bring up joining the sorority later, who knows how she will react. Then again, either way she would probably still react the same.

Screenshot-4350

I clear my throat. “So Kimberly has been doing a lot of promoting for the Beta Gamma Kappas,” I say quickly.

Lizzie takes a bite of her California roll sushi. “Oh?”

I nod. “She has been trying to recruit new members, but it is pretty difficult. She thinks we would recruit more people if we have a better standing.”

Lizzie frowns. “How so?”

“By having more people to start off with. Like perhaps…four people instead of just two…?”

I stop eating and stare at her quietly. Lizzie doesn’t seem to notice at first.

“I guess she has a point,” Lizzie says with a shrug. “I wouldn’t really be interested in joining a group with barely any members verses one with a few more people. So who were you thinking of-oh no.”

Screenshot-4354

“What’s going on?”

I look up and see Janice taking a seat next to me.

Lizzie looks over at her. “I think Abby is trying to recruit me to join the Beta Gamma Kappas!”

I sigh. “Oh come on! I really need you, Liz!”

“Um hello? I helped you write up the petition, come up with the sign and motto, along with agreeing to type up the rulebook. Isn’t that enough?”

“Yes, but wouldn’t it be even greater if you were in the sorority? You went through so much work to just finish and be nothing.”

Lizzie frowns. “I’m not nothing. I did all of that because you’re my friend. I don’t need to be in your sorority.”

I sigh. “I know, but I would really appreciate it if you would. Especially if both of you joined.”

Screenshot-4355

Janice freezes. “Whoa, whoa, don’t bring me into this.”

“Well, actually, I was going to ask you too,” I say sheepishly.

Janice sighs. “Abby, I know I said that the whole sorority thing was cool, but I don’t know if I have time to help you with it.”

Lizzie scoffs. “Says the girl that pushed me to help!”

“Guys!” I take another bite of my sushi. “Look, I could really use your help. I really want to do this and I need all the help I can get.”

Lizzie and Janice are both quiet for a moment and then Lizzie clears her throat.

“Okay, fine. But, I will only join, if Janice agrees to.”

Janice arches her eyebrow. “Really Lizzie?”

“Yes. Really.”

After another long pause, Janice rolls her eyes. “All right, I’ll help. I’ve always wondered what it would be like to be in a sorority.”

Screenshot-4351

I clasp my hands together. “Yes! We are finally on a roll! Next up, finding recruits at a Greek event.”

Janice snickers. “Good luck with that. From what you told me, the Alpha Beta Phis don’t want you or Kimberly at anymore Greek affairs.”

I shrug. “I know, but I’ll think of something. I’ll be damned if I let them ruin our sorority.” I grin. “That feels so good to say! Our sorority!” I squeal loudly causing some people from the dining hall to look over confused. Janice and Lizzie both laugh.

“I’ll see you later, Liz,” I say, and then I leave the dining hall avoiding the strange looks from the others.

Screenshot-4370

I then head up to my room feeling a sense of confidence. I know I still have a long way to go, but it finally feels like I am moving somewhere. Now to recruit other members. How was I going to do that? What kind of event could we attend that won’t alert the Alpha Beta Phis? It seems impossible.

Just then, I hear a beep from my phone and glance down. Charls has sent me a text:

-Hey babe, what’s up?

Screenshot-4371

Smiling, I plop down on my dorm room sofa and text him back: “Got the most amazing news!”

I then tell him everything about Lizzie and Janice joining Beta Gamma Kappa. I also tell him about my trying to think of an event to plan.

“I need something I can use to introduce us, and maybe start up some funding for other events and a…future sorority building…”

“Ah, thinking ahead are we? Lol! You know, there is a Gala coming up for the Greek frats and sororities. Maybe you guys should come to that. I’ll put you on the invite as guests of the Alpha Annyas.”

I grin. “You’d really do that?” I text back.

“Yes I would. And maybe some of that funding could go to you. They are for Greek sororities and fraternities, and you guys are a sorority.”

“But we aren’t an official sorority yet.”

“Don’t worry, about that. I’m sure we can find some wiggle room.”

I feel my heart beaming. “You are the best!” I text him back.

“Ditto. Night babe.”

Screenshot-5518

I then place my phone on my nightstand table and after changing into my nightclothes, I slip into bed. I set my alarm clock for tomorrow, since I promised my mom I would be home early on Wednesday for Thanksgiving. I then yawn and layback against my pillows. Somehow, I think I will be sleeping like a baby tonight.

 

-Evanglina

Leave a Reply

