Chapter 6: New Beginnings (Abby’s POV)

Screenshot-749

When I hear my alarm ringing, I considering hitting the snooze button, but decide against it. It’s my first day of classes and the last thing I want to do is walk in late. That may be Lizzie rubbing off on me, but I also got enough of awkward looks from teachers every time I walked in late back in high school.

I take a shower, get dressed, and then stop in front of the mirror to touch up my face. Perfect. I am now ready for my first day.

Screenshot-750

Since Janice was still in the bathroom getting dressed, I decide to head downstairs to the dorm’s dining hall.

Screenshot-752

Entering the kitchen, I spot Clare Henderson, a girl I met yesterday while I was at the freshman orientation. Clare is junior and from the Tri-Fruhm Sorority on campus. Apparently, she was scanning the freshmen girls for potential pledges. Lucky for me, she seems to have taken some interest. At least I think.

“Hey Clare!” I say, walking over to her. She lives in a different dorm, so I am a bit surprised to see her here. Then again, yesterday I did see her cozying up to one of the guys whose room is on the third floor…

Screenshot-753

“Hey Abby,” Clare says with a smile. “Heading to class?”

“Yup, you?”

“Not exactly. My first class isn’t until noon.”

“Cool.”

I pause for a moment, trying to figure out what else to say. I want to ask her more about the sorority, but I am not sure how to bring in up.

Screenshot-759

“So about what we talked about yesterday,” I start, but Clare cuts me off.

“Oh yah! Don’t worry one bit about it. I’ll talk to Charlotte today and see what I can do. I honestly think she will love you though.”

I smile hopefully. “You really think so?”

“Totally! I wouldn’t say it if I didn’t mean it.”

Screenshot-756

I hear a noise from behind me and turn. Janice is pouring herself some coffee from the coffee maker.

“Hey Janice!” I say cheerfully and she smiles back.

“Morning,” she says, and she takes a sip of her coffee. “What are you two up to?”

“Well,” I start, but Clare cuts me off again.

“Just sorority business. Nothing that would interest you.” She then smirks. Do I detect a bit of irritation in her gaze?

Screenshot-757

“And you would be right,” says Janice taking another sip from her cup. “Tell me when you are ready to head out Abby.” With that, she turns and heads out of the kitchen.

I stare after her puzzled and then look back at Clare. She looks extremely annoyed. Was something going on that I didn’t know about?

Screenshot-760

“What was all that about?” I ask, but Clare just rolls her eyes.

“Don’t worry about it. That said, if I were you, I would distance myself from her. You wouldn’t want it to affect your chances of being a Tri.”

“What? Why?”

“Because she is not Tri-Fruhm material, and hanging out with someone who isn’t can affect you as a pledge. It’s cruel, but that’s life.”

Screenshot-762

“But she’s my roommate. I can’t help that!”

“I understand, but I am just telling you the facts. I am going to do what I can to get you in, but you have to do some things on your own to stay in. Get me?”

I sigh and then nod.

Screenshot-766

“Hey Abby.”

I jump and then turn to see Janice waiting by the door to the dining room.

“You ready to go?”

“Y-yah,” I say slowly and then turn back to Clare.

Screenshot-767

“So I guess I will see you later?”

Clare nods. “Yes, and I will give you a call about what to do next. Tootles!”

With a last wave, I turn and follow Janice out of the kitchen.

Screenshot-769

I am slightly freaking out as I follow Janice out the front door. How long had she been standing there in the kitchen? Did she hear what Clare had said?

Screenshot-770

Since Janice seems fine, I decide not to ask. The last thing I want to do is cause a rift between us. I am already facing that with Lizzie, which honestly really sucks. She is my best friend and I would love to have shared all this with her. Too bad, I can’t. I glance up toward the staircase for a moment before heading out the door. I was hoping to get a glimpse of Lizzie before leaving, but it looks like I won’t. Sighing, I walk through the front door and then shut it behind me.

-Evanglina

Leave a Reply

